July 11, 2012

  • The sun is shining, and I'm getting a lovely tan.  Reading or knitting or watching birds while the kids splash in the river, or dig beside it.  Now if I could just convince Jeremiah to stop digging in the middle of the trail TO the river.  He must be a boy.

    The week of Zeria being gone is whizzing by.  Its been a good relaxing week.  Although a bit of a downer when payday came yesterday we paid the bills, put a wee bit aside for Fun Days this weekend and realized the rest was GONE.  We have *just* enough for one tank of gas between now and next pay day.  I guess the food in our cupboards is going to satisfy us.  No junk food runs.  I can do this right?  But I LOVE the junk food runs.  LOL  And darn it but I've fallen in love with the strwberry smoothy at the espresso stand.  And I don't currently have a blender so I can't make them at home right now.  Must get one soon.

    Its funny watching the dynamics of kids friendships with their siblings when one child is removed from the equation.  Lately Rainee and Samuel have been thick, and Jamari and Jeremiah.  And sometimes  Rainee and Zeria.  Kaylin is the peacemaker and just weaves in and out all of them.  This week its back to Samuel and Kaylin, and Rainee is kinda lonesome and a teensy bit ornrey.  Its all good, it will flip again in five minutes.

    I think we are going to sleep outside under the stars tonight.  Rainee wanted to know if her and the little boys could, and I said we all could.  Rob will be at work all night.  So let the adventures begin.  :)   I have a lovely mattress I can haul out so I won't even miss my bed.  When we got rid of our hide-a-bed we kept the double mattress for emergency guests, and laying by the river.  Its quite comfy.

    I am over 1/2 way through my very first knitted sock.  I've already turned the heel and done the hard part.  I'm just annoyed by the stitches that keep slipping off my needles when I'm not using one of the three needles holding the sock.  I wish I had a knitting guard...I keep trying to come up with something around the house that would work.  But haven't gotten inspired yet. 

    The girls got to have their second sewing class of the summer.  Rainee is almost done her pillow case.  She will definitely finish it next week.  And then she wants to make the bag that Kaylin learned how to make last summer.  Kaylin finished cutting out all the pieces for her lap quilt today, so next week she gets to start sewing.  Its going to be very cute, and very Kaylin.  The main fabric is black with red roses & green leaves running through it.   That's the outside square, and on the inside of each square is a bright pop of color.  The back of the quilt is some lovely rainbow fabric I found at a thriftstore that said KAYLIN.  Kaylin is all about the rainbow.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *