Month: May 2010

  • corn rows

    Most of you know I learned how to do cornrows in Zeria's hair several years ago.  And during basketball season this year I had to redo them ONCE a week due to how many times she was showering.  But it was the only way she was willing to wear her hair now that its getting so long.  It was too much of a pain otherwise.  Its long enough to be a GIGANTIC fro, but not long enough to put in a pony tail due to the kinkiness of it.

    Anyhow the last time I did it I decided to divide her hair into three parts instead of two.  It actually ends up being less work, and neater.  Sometimes I do the top in a crooked part, this time I did it a straight.  i actually think I like the top in the crooked part a wee bit better.  But oh man do I love the way the braids turned out.  So does she.

    She kept petting them when I got done with them.  Actually I did too.   LOL

    So there's my "art" project from last night.  Zeria's head.  It takes me about 2.5 hours from start to finish.  But it means having her hair looking nice for about 3 weeks.  So it is WAY worth it. 

  • Picture Afghan

    A little over a month ago a friend gave me a very cool book from the late 70s with afghans in it.  Several of them were picture afghans, and I fell in love with the one of a castle, cause my RaineeGrace LOVES castles.

    So I splurged and bought some yarn, two days after her birthday when I ran into return her camera.  And began this project.

    I had to splurge and buy yarn ummm 3 more times to finish said project?  Its behemoth.  ROFL.

    And I started burning out as it got bigger and bigger.  I finally started making myself do a row of granny squares a day.

    Yesterday there was a end in sight, so I did 3 rows even feeling like CRAP.

    And today I did the last row, and sewed it on.  It still needs to be blocked.  But I'm not even sure how to go about doing that its so ginormous.  Its is after all sitting on my King Size Bed in this picture.

    Of course now my kids all think they need one.  And they think I'm super woman and can design it in a horse shape or a dragon shape.  LOL.  Personally I want one for me in the shape of a Lighthouse.  I might have a new obsession...

  • Recycle, Remodel

    I picked up a size 10 girls baby doll shirt with long sleeves at the JBC clothes attic.

    But its getting to be summer, and I didn't need long sleeve stuff.

    So I cut the sleeves off, hemmed it, blanket stitched, and added a cute little trim.  I then crochet three flowers, leaves and a vine, and sewed it on the bottom.  And now I have a cute little dress for Rainee that involved about 1.5 hours of work...pleasurable work.

  • Yesterday was a quiet day in our house.  Rob spent a great portion of it cutting firewood, and I spent a great portion of it enjoy my monthly visitor.  Okay being crampy and rather listless.  But my hands stayed busy even if my mind was rather DEAD.

    The ravelry group that I joined is doing a CAL  (crochet-along)  So I spent the day making this rather unique scarf.  I was too eager to get a picture up to model it properly.  So, maybe I'll show you how it should be worn later.  (don't hold your breathe.)

    Its kind of a silly fun decorative flower scarf.  It looks cuter on then you would think.  I think it would make a great handle for one of my purses, and tend to modify one so I can do just that. 

    Last night we went to the beach for just a few minutes.  It was only 50 degrees outside, so it was a quick enjoy.  LOL  Rainee managed to slip and fall on the barnacles twice.  OOPS.

    Today looks to be as dreary as yesterday.  I would really like to put a order in for some sunshine.