Month: September 2009

  • random blog

    Our house still STINKS of smoke.  But otherwise we're fine.  And as I forgot to blog the lizard amazingly is fine.  He moved to the opposite end of the cage and did just fine.

    Now pictures of Friday.


    Jeremiah was invited by coach Judy to learn how to march.  He was a bit nervous, but he's really been wanting to do it.  So I told him I'd give him a dollar if he would.  "A real paper dollar?"  He asked with waaay too much enthusiasm."  I nodded.

    He went up and learned basic and military and did a awesome job.  And I might had a BLAST.  He was beaming from ear to ear over it.  And when he came back he wanted his paper dollar.  He clutched that thing so hard.  But marching was apparently exhausting, so he curled up on his daddy's lap and took a nap.  Clutching said dollar for all it was worth.  ROFL.  Too cute.

    We are hoping to add Presentation to the mix before the first contest, but we shall see.  I will not let him do a solo this year, unless he REALLY begs.  But this way at least he won't be totally bored.   I even have a costume for him--ordered one for Jamari and its way too small.  All I need is to find some very small dance pants...or make them.

    After baton we went grocery shopping in Aberdeen.  Rob and the kids played at a very nearby park.  When Zeria and I drove to pick them up this is where we found them.


    It worked well to shop in Aberdeen, and I think we will do that again if pay day falls so close to a baton trip.

    As a result of shopping we were much later then we normally are, and by the time we hit Klaloch (our normal break stop) we had *just* missed the sunset, and got just the after glow.  It was getting dark, but we had a nice quick wiggle anyhow.  And I of course shot about 25 pictures.  I'll share five.


    Moon rising, while sun is setting.  Too cool

    Not the only one enjoying the after sunset.  LOL

    Beautiful splashing waves.

    Princess Z

    Jamari bein Jamari.  ROFL

  • why do I still have a home?

    We had baton today.  And after baton we chose to grocery shop in Hoquiam rather then do a 2 hour run tomorrow to P.A. to do it.  So we didn't get home until 8:45.  We walked in the sunroom and immediately smelled smoke.

    I opened the door to the rest of the house and immediately saw that the lizard light had fallen down.  Its a very hot heat lamp.   The lizard had been living in a HUGE plastic tub.  The light had fallen off its nail, into the cage and melted the seed, through the plastic, through the laminated flooring, and into the subfloor.  It was hot.  But not flaming.

    And we still have a house.  God is truely good.

  • Neah Bay with Grandma and Grandpa

    Its been a fun-filled wonderful warm hot sunny day with t he in-laws.  It POURED on Tuesday, so we were rather concerned about the weather for our annual visit with grandma, and grandpa, but today was amazing weather.  Actually hot enough we had to move to the shade when we were at the river this afternoon.

    So this morning they came in about 9 (having got in the night before)  and we headed pretty much immediately to Neah Bay.

    The first stop was the marina to see the Sea Lions.  But alas there was only one.  And he wasn't really intrested in showing off.  So after taking some pictures of the reflection, we headed to Cape Flattery.

    We were there earlier this summer, but we'd never taken G&G so decided it was time.

    The waves were delightful looking down off the cliffs.  VERY foamy.

    And we enjoyed each of the five look-outs to its fullest.

    And when we were done enjoying the lookout before hiking back we had a nice picnic.

    I love what Jer is doing to Jamari. *giggles*  Notice in the background KK's new haircut I did that on Thursday, its soo cute.
    After the picnic we had to head back up the steps and the hill.

    Its a rather steep little booger, and we had to take several stops so that we still had ya know oxygen.

    We also had to take a stop to treat Rainee.

    At least we've gotten back into the habit of having her meds with us.

    We also had to have a stop or two to explore.

    Don't they look comfy?
    And I of course had to stop and take pictures of the scenery.

    I loved this bright colored mushroom.

    Making our way up the never-ending hill.

    When we got back to the top we had a grapes snack, and then headed back to see if we could spot some sea lions.

    Once again I had to take pictures of the reflections.  The water in the bay was sooo calm.


    And played some more with the textures, and colors of the boats.

    And one more boat picture.

    We still didn''t see as many sea lions as before.  But we did find one that was willing to give us a nice show, and as a extra bonus we got to see three fisherman cutting up some squid.  Man those suckers were UGLY.  But they were also why we found the sea lion as they were throwing the extras to it.  So we got to watch it throw its food up, torture the seagulls, and so on. 

    I just love watching them.  

    We then drove back home (45 minutes)  and had a lovely sit at the river with a hot dog roast.  And tomorrow is another day.

  • My Birthday, Baptism,

    Random Photo blog here.  Very random LOL

    So first my birthday outing on Saturday was to see the sea lions in Neah Bay.  I just love going out on the docks and exploring.



    It is super hard to take pictures of the sea lions, cause they bob under about the time you get the camera focused.  But here's my favorite one.

    The sea lion had a tuna head that the fishermen had thrown in, and the sea gulls really really thought it should be theres.   He threw it up in the air, and let it sink, and then would dive under and get it again.  I don't know what the rules were to the game, but its always very entertaining!

    And there I am with my kiddos, in my birthday jacket.   


    Sunday after church Kaylin was baptized in the river.  It was a short but sweet ceremony.  And we gave Rob a hard time cause he didn't get her all the way under.  ROFL

    And as soon as that was finished my dad met me to spend some time with me on my birthday.  This was a compromise visit.  He wanted to take me out to eat, and I just didn't want to.   I don't particularly enjoy it right now duue to the fear that the fatty food is going to hurt me, and I'm not thrilled with face to face conversation with him.   I was hashing that out with my mom on thursday (when we celebrated my birthday)  and I realized I just needed to do what I love doing with him, and thats driving.

    So he met in my driveway, and I drove in my car--because I have 4 wheel drive, and we had a great adventure.  We went and visited a cool falls that I'd seen (no pictures they were a bit fuzzy) 

    Went and revisited the big tree that he found with us before his visit to jail.


    At which point I had to play nurse cause he was cutting down some hemlock, and his knife broke and he sliced his hand rather badly.  It bled profusely, not enough to need stitches, but definitely NASTY.  So after that little excitement was taken care of we had to go get gas for the car, and I decided to take him to see some stumps Rob and I had found two days previously.

    Yeah stumps.  But these were way cool stumps.


    Do you see how big that old tree was?  There was like 25 this size within a five acre area.  He wandered around taking pictures of them all, while I took pictures from the road.  I wasn't dressed for clearcut bashing LOL.

    It was fun, it took the pressure off, and we will be doing it again--but not every weekend as I'm sure he'd like LOL  Its about boundarys. 

    And I would have shown these sooner, but my cord to my camera quit working, so I had to order a sd card reader. 

  • grandma visit

    We had a quick visit from Grandma and Auntie Thelma yesterday.  And I got my baby Kiah fix.  Who LOOOVED our river.  She just was fascinated by the sparkly water, and the splashes, and Jamari.

    Jamari in particular LOL  He even got her to giggle.


    Although the best entertainment of the day was watching Auntie Thelma keep trying to get her chair comfy, as it kept sinking into the rocks.  Well it was funny until mine did it.    Gotta be careful what you laugh at LOL


    What do you think of that outfit?  Blackmail material when she hits 25?  Ironically my sister Brittany threatened to steal the socks--and she was serious.  Brittany LOOOVES bright socks.


    Some people sit on lawn chairs beside the river.  Some...get a little bit confused.  It was particularly funny when the river decided to take the chair out and she went upside down. 


    Uncle Rob even held Kiah.  Actually he loves Kiah...though you can't see it in this picture. Friday is his sleepy day.  He works all night and then doesn't go to bed cause its his weekend.  He instead spent most of the day rebuilding our woodshed, and visiting with company.  Poor guy.  He's still working on the woodshed.  IN THE RAIN.   Drenching rain.  I know I was out in it picking a gallon and a half of blackberrys.  I took a shower with all my clothes on.


    Jeremiah playing king of the mountain.

    And one more cute Kiah picture.  Of course I'm fully aware I'm prejudice!!   Aunties are allowed to be.

  • Sticker Maze...and other creative play--school

    Zeria and Rainee spent much of Wednesday making a maze in our very large sticker patch.  And then all day Thursday charging there siblings to use it.  Little entrepeneur's they are.  LOL    I also consider it school due to the math involved in adding up how much so and so needed to pay for two trips through the maze etc. 

    The three girls have spent the last 6 months making crafts to sale.  So next weekend we will be allowing them to have a table at the great strait sale and attempt to sale some of them.  They aren't expecting to make a lot (they charge 25 cents for a lot of there crafts)  but they've worked so hard its worth it to me to let them attempt to sale them.  Once again play---that becomes school.

    I was talking to my sister about how educational dice were.  Dice is math.  And there are sooooooooo many many games you can play with them.  And all kinds of different kind of dice too.  My kids love dice games.  And never ever associate it with how much I hated math as a kid.  HATED it.

    And now I love it to the point that I'm seriously contemplating teaching myself algebra just cause its fun. 

  • Music

    I have picked out 8 songs for Zeria to use for a show twirl.  Now the coach can decide which one she likes best.  Though Zeria has a clear favorite.

    #1   Impossible (from Cinderella 1997 version)  song by Brandy and Whitney Houston
    #2   I will Survive (ya know from the Subway commercial)  hey don't knock its catchy music.
    #3  I enjoy being a girl.  (Richard and Hammerstein musical)
    #4  The Phantom of the Opera
    #5  Money, Money, Money (from Mama Mia)
    #6 Real Gone (from Cars)
    #7 Ever AFter (Carrie Underwood)
    #8 I Can't Sayo No (Oklahoma)

    The order is Zeria's favorite to least favorite.   We shall see what Judy says.  You have no idea how many truely awful songs I listened to find these.  *snicker*

  • It was a merryground day today.

    It started with a neighbor calling at 7 am (waking us all up) to inform us he was delivering hay at 8.  The hay is a VERY good buy.  Oregon alfalfa.  But that just got our day off to a BANG!  ROFL

    I've spent the last week a day behind.  And today was no acception.

    I had it firmly planted in my mind that I had 3 doctors appointments way too close together for comfort TOMORROW.

    They were today.

    The good news is I figured it out before I missed them.

    The bad news is I never schedule things on Tuesday cause I have baton to coach. 

    The worse news was there were FOUR sets of construction crews on 112.  One of which had a 10 minute wait.  It was a super duper long drive.  But I still made it back to baton only 5 minutes late.  I'd already called a mom and warned her I might be.

    So the doctors appointments.  I should be getting a call from the surgeon who did the ERCP to schedule the removal of the stent.  Dr F says I'm ready to have it out.  So then I can truely start healing.

    KK's weight/height is doing just fine.  A major worry with her non-functioning thyroid.  We will do her blood work tomorrow or Friday.  (the peds office doesn't do blood work  and we have someone here in Clallam Bay at the medical clinic that can actually do her on only two sticks).

    Rainee was finally old enough to do a lung function study test.  I assumed she'd do fairly well.  But am always aware of the Rainee curve-ball.  She threw us one.  She did quite well using the lung function device.  But she didn't test well.  Dr. W was VERY unhappy with the numbers she came up with.  Tracie I'd love to get a message from you as to what yours are so as to give me some comparisons.

    So Rainee is adding another med to her regimin, and we will go back in a month.  If there isn't significant improvement we're back to Seattle to pulmonology. 

    Such is life.   I admit to worrying about her tonight.  Its my job.  But I know she's so much healthier now then she was even 2 years ago...that I have to remind myself to trust.

    We are also adding another tummy med to see if that helps.

    I'm actually wondering if her tummy complaints aren't her lungs not working well and she unable to identify it.  Dr W said it was a very viable alternative.  I'm kind of hesitant about adding both meds at the same time, and am thinking now that I won't.  I think we'll do the breathing one first, so we can see which one does the job. 

    Zeria stayed home and baby sat the boys.  That was SOOOOOOOO nnice.  And the first time I've trusted her that far away from me.  They did well.  And they met me at the top of the hill carrying a sleeping Jeremiah.  Who slept all the way through baton in mine or Zeria's arms.  Its very very hard to coach when your already exhausted CARRYING a four year old. 

    So still asleep we gathered up our stuff, had a frantic search for Rainee's shoes whhich involved 3 extra trips back in side the community hall.  Found them, closed the hall up.

    Got in the car, and realized no keys. 

    Shrieks.

    Forty-five minutes later, 2 frantic calls to Rob, a friend, and a friend of a friend came up and unlocked the clubhouse so I could go home.

    Fortunately the rest of the day (all 3 hours of it) have been uneventful