Month: May 2009

  • Torch Run 2009


    Rob running with his boss Dr. Johnson.  Rob was suprised when he realized he'd been partnered with him, and was a bit nervous, as it meant several hours in his company during a relaxed format.  It actually ended up being fun, as we drove him to the two legs they did, etc.

    The last mile the DOC did they did together as a team.  So this is some of them.  Rob is carrying the torch.

    Daddy's support staff.  They decided he needed signs, and did them all without any ideas or suggestions from me.  The boys also made signs, but by this photo op they were done holding them.

    And the finish line.   It was so much nicer having a bigger group doing this leg, as nobody was dead on there feet.
    It was rather funny driving support this year, I was unable to last year.

    Anyhow it was funny, because its a law enforcement sponsored event, so there were cop cars in front and in back, and playing leap frog like I was.  We'd drop off two runners, and then race up to the next spot to pick up two, etc.  So I kept getting tailed by cops.  And every single time I'd get apprehensive...and then laugh at myself.  Because they were the good-guys.

    And then as we passed one who was in the front of the runners he let off his siren to encourage the kids to keep cheering and I jumped straight up.  LOL

    It was a good day, and soooo nice and warm.  But with enough of a breeze that the runners didn't get hot.  I did end up with a nice tan as well. 

    We came home to find the last kitten dead.  And two broken hearted girls.  It was a long night.  But  things move on.

  • runner

    We are headed to town this morning to cheer Rob on carrying the torch for the Special Olympics.  This is a fantastic program, and one we're glad to support.  He gets in on it, because its done by Law Enforcement, and Prison workers are the b****** child of the law.  *snigger*  That being said the cop that was in charge last year was extremely gracious and grateful to the prison workers that showed they had to cover 18 miles.  This year there are more runners from the prison due to the good publicity from last year.  So it should be even more interesting.

    Tomorrow we have to pack for state.  And Friday we head out at 6 am for one last practice, and our trip to the tri-cities.

    We only have one kitten left.  The mother is taking care of that one.  And its not her fault we lost the second.  Our puppy went in and took the second one, and played with it.  It was not a good day.  Zeria was devastated, and I wasn't far behind.  I usually handle pet losses mostly okay, but not that one.

    Jeremiah has been in my bed at 2 am the last four nights that hasn't helped handling the pet stuff. 

    I really hate leaving the kitten and mommy cat while we're gone, but have no choice.  So I guess we'll have to let God take care of them, and what happens, happens.

    I do know when we get home, it will be *us* that checks on them not Zeria.  I just can't handle her finding a second dead pet.

    Now I just need to come up with lunch for us to eat on the run today.

  • Kittens

    I think we finally calmed the momma cat enough to take care of the kittens.  They are very cute.  And huge.  I'm amazed how big they are...their bigger then the last batch of puppies we had LOL

    We have one gray one, one blonde one, and one black with white socks.  We will be keeping all three.  We have only had 2 cats for the last year, and our mouse population is winning.  The joys of country living.  LOL

    I locked the momma in our dog kennel with the kittens this morning, and this afternoon I unlocked it, and she's still staying with them.  I haven't necessarily seen her nurse them, but she's at least with them, so I'm assuming they are okay.  We placed a blanket over most of the kennel to give her a nice dark place.  She seems to like it.

    *cheers*

    Its gorgeous outside, and soon as Jeremiah wakes up I'm headed out to enjoy it.

  • kittens

    Zeria's cat had kittens yesterday afternoon.  Its her first litter, and she is being STUPID. 

    I've never had a cat have problem with kittens.  But ugh I have a bad feeling I'm going to do a fast learning curve as to hand-nursing babies. UGH UGH UGH.

    She just had three.

    She had the first one on the living room couch.  And then left it to fall in the crack of the couch, so that Jeremiah found it and shrieked.  Its amazingly still just fine.

    She had the second one on Zeria's bed...leaving the first one on the couch, so we carried it to her.  And eventually the third was also had on Zeria's bed.  We left them there.  They got dried off and cleaned.  We assumed she did that.  But she just doesn't seem intrested in cuddling with them. 

    Zeria of course didn't want them on her bed while she slept.  (eww)  So we tried moving them to a box.  Mommy cat just let us.  She purrs, lets us love her, but doesn't seem much intrested in the babies.

    We moved her and the kittens into our bedroom and closed the door so she would be forced to be in the same space.  She slept on the foot of our bed most of the night.  Of course I was sleeping, so I have no clue if she nursed them then or not.  *growl*  But I do know in the last 2 hours she hasn't gotten near them...although she did peer into the box from a distance twice.

    Sooooo we went and got our puppy kennel out, put the box inside it, and the mommy cat and locked them in.  Put a blanket over the kennel so they couldn't be disturbed.

    Oh yeah, and first thing this morning the kids went to peer at the kittys (not touching) and shrieked "One's missing."  Sure enough it was laying in the middle of the kitchen in a puddle of water. 

    And no she wasn't moving them, as she was sitting in the sunshine in the living room.  *growl* 

    So I dried the kitty and warmed it up, and placed it back with its siblings.  There's only three of them, so I don't think its about not having enough milk.  I think its about being young and stupid. 

    So if this plan doesn't work in the next four hours or so...I guess I'm hand raising 3 kittens.

    YUCK YUCK YUCK!

  • 100_1277

    Its been a beautiful weekend.  Our anniversary was so relaxing.  And we've had lots of fun with the kids in the sunshine.  I've taken lots of pictures, and I'll probably share more of them later.  But once and awhile I take a picture that just makes me beam, and know that I passed into art.  The above picture is one of them.  I'm just in love with it, and had to sneak on and share.

  • Bad News;

    100_1224

    It is way too early to go 4-wheel driving in our fields.  The mud is deep baby!

    100_1225

    Good news.  Being a loggers daughter pays off, and after Rob got it royall stuck he sent a kiddo to the house to come get me.  He did a wee bit of shovelling.  I got in and knew how to drive it.  He pushed, I gunned it, covered him and the kids in mud and got it unstuck. 

    *snigger*

    And then we headed to the river...after his wife declared.  NO MORE DRIVING IN THE FIELD UNTIL AT LEAST JUNE!

    100_1226

    Rainee's "pretty" rocks.

    100_1231

    Beach Bums.  Some of us got brave and waded to the other side.  Some of us laughed at those who were brave.  The bums are those who laughed.  LOL 

    100_1233

    Some of us hitched a ride.

    100_1234

    Some of us did NOT want our picture taken.

    100_1238

    Unfortunately for Samuel I got him anyhow!   Can you spot the boy? *snicker*

    100_1240

    Rob snagged this one for me.  I rather liked it.

    100_1241

    And my favorite view of the river.  I can't take enough pictures of it.  Its the reason we said we'd buy the place before we looked in the house.  *snicker*

    And my house is super quiet.  Kids are all at moms.  And we are celebrating our 10th one weekend late.  Its been LOVERLy so far.

     

  • 100_1131

    100_1113

    I uploaded these Sunday, and never came and blogged.  Anyhow there's the pictures of the kids in their costumes for missoula childrens theater.  It went well, and they had fun.  The girl with Kaylin is Andria Kaylin's very good friend. 

    If your intrested I also loaded some videos of them performing.  They are on two days, as it took quite awhile for them to load. 

     

     100_1145

    100_1149

     100_1152

     100_1155

  • beach climbing

    Yesterday during the first missoula practice the boys Rob and I headed to the beach.  It was gorgeous weather, and the tide was out.  We went to a beach we've gone to many times, but headed the opposite direction from where we usually go.  Normally its not an option, due to it being under water, and very slippery rocks.  But because of the hot sunny day, and low tide we were able to climb all over it, and up onto some nice high rocks (about 20 feet off the ground) that had a lovely view.

    Rob and I stayed there and enjoyed watching the sea lions that were splashing about 150 feet off sure with the binoculars, but Jer and Sam climbed all over the place until it was time to head back for Rainee.

    It was so beautiful.  And it cured the headache I'd had for several hours too.

    Rob on his perch

    100_1081

    One of the gorgeous tide pools

    100_1083

    Sam exploring the biggest one.

    100_1084

    Me on my perch

    100_1086

    Oh yeah a casualty was had on those thar rocks...to the derriere of my pants.  *snigger*  I was very greatful I had a long shirt on.

    Samuel on a second set of rocks that he climbed quite aways from ours.

    100_1091

    Jeremiah on a perch

    100_1092

    This afternoon the kids are doing two performances of there play.  It should be fun.   I love watching them.  We have pizza ordered to pick up between performances.  We will eat it, and then head back with them for the evening performance.

     

     

  • ten year anniversary

    I know I've been missing on xanga.  My kids are doing Missoula Childrens Theater this week, and that has kept me very busy.

    Today however I had to note is my tenth anniversary. 

    We are celebrating by playing chauffeur for kids all day.  *snicker*  Next weekend we will truely celebrate, will be leaving the kids at my moms, and going to the first restaurant we ever had a "fancy date" at Downriggers in Port Angeles.  It has a lovely view, and, is one of our favorites, we haven't eaten there in a long time either.

    I am so greatful for the ten years God has given us, and the fact that I know God picked out just the right person for me, and made us one.

    100_1682