Month: September 2008

  • More sick

    Yeah what goes around comes around.

    So about 10:30 Sunday night I joined the living dead bowing to the porcelain god.

    I stopped bowing about noon yesterday.  But am still squatting occasionally.

    I know way way too much TMI!

    And we're supposed to start our new baton squad today, and it would be impossible to cancel at this point. 

    Soooooo I'm praying hard and Rob is headed to the store for some keopectate in a few minutes.

    The joy.

    Everybody else is mended except Jeremiah who is still having mild tummy issues, and incredibly whiny.

    He came out whined, demanded, and went back to sleep on the couch.  This is a good thing.  LOL  The going back to sleep I mean.

     

  • sick!

    Yeah didn't get to see my sister.

    Just before we loaded up to go to baton Kaylin announced to Rob she wasn't feeling good.

    15 minutes later in the excursion she threw up.

    We hoped it was a once off.  (living the life of delusion)

    As we got to practice we handed her some water to drink.

    She threw it up.

    She then proceeded to do so until sometime in the middle of the night.  (about every 15 minutes for hours)

    I apologized to the coach for not having Kaylin and the rest of us went in.  (seemingly healthy)

    Practice went as well as it could considering a new coach, etc.  And we headed to the car to leave.  I was talking to the coach at the door, watching the kids get in.  When yeah Zeria puked.

    She gave us NO warning.

    So she was sick all night too.  Though not quite as violent as the other two girls.

    And about 10:45 last night we added Jeremiah to the mix of sick.

    Its only a matter of time before the rest of it get it I'm sure.

    My husband is an absolute saint.  He slept out in the living room in the "sick" room.  While Rainee and I slept the night away with very few disturbances.  He deserves much accolade and praise!!!!!   Rainee slept with me, cause she was scared to sleep in her bedroom alone.  Which we understood.

    So bets on who goes down next?

    Me?

    Sam?

    Jamari?

    Rob?

     

  • follow the bouncing blog

    Thursday night I went to bed at 1 am.  Late for me, but I was dealing with insomnia.

    1:15 Jeremiah knocked on my door unable to sleep himself.  So I cuddled him up against me, and tried to get sleepy again.

    1:20 Rainee knocked on the door accompanied by Zeria.  After a couple seconds of confused conversation I learned she'd just thrown up all over her bed.  I sent Zeria for a bucket, and cleaned Rainee up, and situated her in my bed.

    Rob works Thursday night, which may be a good thing cause there was no room for him at this point.  LOL

    Rainee threw up about 5 minutes later, and every fifteen minutes from then until Rob got home.

    In between times Jeremiah wanted a drink of water, and to play.  He got his drink of water, and was told he was to lay still and go to sleep or he was going back to his bed to cry himself to sleep.  He believed me and went to sleep.

    Rob got home at 6:45 a.m.  By this point Rainee's throw-up had spread to about every 30 minutes.  Rob took the lot to the bedroom and I attempted to recover some sleep.  I slept until 9:45.  I never sleep in that late.  But man it was a long night.

    So when I woke up Rainee was doing a wee bit better.  Although she threw up about once an hour until 6:40 last night.  She still hasn't eaten anything.  She's scared to.  I rather can't blame her.  But have told her if she doesn't she can't twirl or go see her cousins. 

    So after waking up I had to go grocery shopping.  I was supposed to have done it the day before, but I chose to wait for Friday so I could go by myself.  It was a long day.  I was so tired and kept making simple mistakes.  But the deed got done.  And when I got home at 4 pm I crawled into bed for a two hour nap.  Rob had taken a nap earlier while the kids watched tv.  He sleeps on the job as well, so he was still functioning quite well.

    I can't remember how I dealt with Rainee's sleep apnea and the alarms and oxygen.  One night just killed me.

    Today we have our second lesson with the new coach.  And after that my sister is in town and we are supposed to meet for dinner.  If Rainee can't keep food down, I will take the kids to twirling, and Rob will stay home with her.  But I think she's gonna make it.  Or maybe I'm deluding myself. 

  • 100_1141

    Science project.

    We are doing a hands-on Science project.  We chose 10 quart jars and put 10 different items in them, and then added water.  We didn't stir the water, although we did use the faucet so that stirred it a bit. 

    We theorized whether the items would change after we put them in, and we took a picture of them so we can compare tomorrow.

    We have frozen blackberries, dried apricots, a stick, a rock, sugar, a cube of margarine,  spice, oil, a chunk of  bread, and dry macaroni.

    The kids were suprised to see the margarine and the bread float.  The rock they predicted it would float.  They've also predicted that the bread will get soggy.  Mommy believes it will disinigrate.

    It was such a success that tomorrow I think we will use the same items with one difference we will use boiling water.  It will be fun for them to see how heat can change results. 

  • Puddles and Wet Suits

    I suppose I should go get my camera...but I'm too lazy.

    Any how my kids are all outside puddle jumping.

    Zeria decided to one up them, and to save me work put her wet suit on!!!!

     

  • random nonsense

    Its been a boo-boo kind of morning.

    Samuel was doing some kind of gymnastic and fell and hit his head and needed ice to calm him down.

    Rainee was goofing with kaylin and hit her mouth and shrieked.

    Zeria fell and hurt something.

    And then Rainee tied this big long scarf I got for them to play with at Goodwill on Tuesday around her legs, and Kaylin tied it around her legs and they were doing something and Rainee fell and scratched her back all up.

    And its not even 11 o'clock.

    I sent them outside into the rain.  I needed a break! LOL

    We have added two more kids to the baton team.    So I think that brings us up to 12 kids.  It should be a lot of fun.

    Awana was uneventful last night.  They had a special speaker and sparks joined with TNT so I didn't have to help.  That was rather nice.  But I have to admit I'm missing leading the singing, but we'll be back to status quo next week, and I can start leading the songs again. 

    I have to admit to amusement in regards to Samuels puppy.   She's a bully!  Just like her owner.  She goes around getting bit by every one of our dogs.  My very laid back Achi HATES her.  Every time Cupcake gets near Achi Cupcake tries to "love" her, Achi sees it as invasion of space and bites her.  Cupcake just wants to play...and doesn't know her own strength.

    The only one willing to play with her is Zeria's kitten, and that doesn't last long in the peaceful department.  Currently the two of them are under my wardrobe.  I'm rather impressed Cupcake can still get under there.  And rather curious as to wether she can get back out.  She is growing SO fast.  And I still haven't put a picture up of her.  I have several on my camera, I just haven't taken the time to get them loaded up I shall have to do that soon.

    And we have our first real fall rain.  Its coming down super hard.  Washing all the stinks out of the air. 

    And in Rob's panic mode.  He got his pay stub today, and went to access our account this morning to transfer some funds around and our account showed that it had $31.  He called the bank as soon as it opened and they had to call their headquarters.  Apparently a computer glitch didn't transfer the funds right.  Oh that's comforting.    Its supposed to be all fixed by 11.

    Rob took a deep breath and let it out when he got off the phone.  ROFL

     

  • Good morning

    Yesterday was rather longish.  We had to run to Port Angeles to drop off Rainee's *cough* "gift" to the lab.  It had taken a week for her to deposit said gift.  While there I also got Kaylin's thyroid blood work done.  I'm waiting to hear the results for those.  Usually Dr W has called by now...so I'm not sure what that means.

    The fructose intolerance diet is a total bust.  We saw ZERO results.  ZERO.

    And last night I let Rainee have a apple fritter from Safeway and she was the best she's been in quite a long time.  And didn't go hypoglycemic on me either. 

    So we are quitting.  Its just been a total bust in my opinion.

    We are discussing between Rob and I lactose intolerance, so we will pick up some lactaid on payday (tomorrow) and see if it helps. 

    I'm totally frustrated with the doctors in regards to this, and am guessing we either live with the status quo, or I fight for them to listen.  Its been awhile since I've fought for Rainee, and I'm...tired.  Her quality of life is not what it was before April, so I guess I need to get into advocating mode and move on.   *sigh*

    In good news We officially have five kids registered for baton, along with my five that makes a nice squad of ten.   I'm thrilled about this, and I think I *might* have two more.  So we shall see how it goes.    We will start next Tuesday. 

  • it was a uneventful weekend.

    We are low on money and payday's not 'til Thursday so we didn't do too much exciting.

    Saturday I volunteered to sale raffle tickets for the school playground.  I told my friend L that I would do whatever was needed to help with funds for that.  We have ZERO park/playground anywhere nearby and it would be very nice to have that outlet available to the kiddos.

    Sunday was church, and family time.

    And today was school, and just doing.

    I rewired the lamp my mom gave me tonight so my hubby can hang it for me tomorrow.  Its quite heavy and will need something strong to hang it from, so I'll let him do it. 

    We are all running a bit tired as Jeremiah has decided to visit us once or twice every night for the last two weeks.  On top of that Zeria has been in our bedroom several times a week.  I feel like I crept back into newborn stage and I'm ready for it to go bye-bye!!!!

    Other then that just hanging around. 

  • why I vote

    Its the time of the year where I duck my head and skim a lot of blogs.

    Blogs of people I like and respect the rest of the time, and suddenly they turn into these politcal ranting crazies.  Its not my thing, and typically I just duck my head and move on.

    Today a lady whom I like and have met in real-life and also happens to be on the opposite end of the political spectrum as me did another politcally motivated blog.  She wanted to know what kind of woman voted for Republicans.

    That would be me.

    I'm not going to go all political on you.  But I will say that I'm voting for McCain and Palin.  I'm not quite as excited about Palin as others, but she's better then a lot of other options.

    Why do I vote this way?

    MORALITY.

    Pro Life.  I feel very very strongly about the abortion issue.  And its what makes me place my vote.

    Bush for everything he did fought very very hard to make abortion extremely difficult to get.  He deserve big kudos for this. 

    Its my biggest reason for voting these days.  The taxing and how you spend your money that just starts me laughing.  Because both sides make these lovely financial promises and neither side ever actually comes even remotely close to keeping them. 

    The Seattle PI shows both McCain, Bush, and Obama promising to "fix" the economy.  Hey look something both sides agree on.

    Scuse me while I sit over hear laughing. 

    Oh wait I went on a total rabbit trail.  I don't have faith in either side fixing it. 

    I do believe however God sets up rulers, and brings them down.  And thus I give my vote and trust God to do the rest.  Cause that's the kind of woman I am. 

  • I'm back from Seattle.

    It was a long uneventful trip.

    I took Rainee to the GI doctor.  He ran a bunch of tests, and will run a few more. 

    We also took a x-ray.

    So far he doesn't want another bronchostopy which makes me VERY happy.

    I wasn't thrilled with the doctor.  I didn't feel like he listened to me very well.  He wants us to experiment with fructose intolerance which we are doing.  Its not going to be fun, as its in EVERYTHING. 

    Lunch and dinner I can do for Rainee, breakfast just sucks.  Rainee doesn't like eggs.  What else is there for breakfast that doesn't have fructose in it.  *growl* 

    She can have bread according to the doctor even if it has fructose in it.  But bread with no jam, or honey, or yeah you get the picture.

    I'm also not convinced that its going to do any good.  I realize that it is a true problem.  But I don't feel like Rainee's symptoms match it.  But I'm prepared to be proven wrong. 

    I've done a low-carb diet off and on since I was 18, so I'm aware of what to watch for in regards to hidden sugars.  Its just keeping a six year old happy at breakfast thats got me stumpped.  Breakfast low-fructose is just BORING!

    And yeah there's things like cottage-cheese pancakes etc.  But what do you put on top of them.  See the issue with getting a child to eat?  Rainee isn't actually that terribly picky, unlike her other two sisters.  But one can only eat eggs for breakfast in so many ways before one wants to throw the eggs at someone.  And Rainee's not a egg fan. 

    And Rainee LOVES fruit.  LOVES it.  And now she's not supposed to eat a single piece of it for two weeks.  It could be a long two weeks.