Month: January 2007

  • I am wiped out. 

    Last week apparently did me in.  And the Chronic Fatigue is kicking in.

    Just dead.

    Have a sore throat to boot.

    And tomorrow another BB game, and the next day BB practice and AWana, and the next day a game.

    *shrieks*

    So today I gave myself permission to be wiped out.

    Tomorrow I will pull myself up by my boot straps and punt.

  • You know what?

    I think all the mumbo jumbo about kids--even homeschool kids having all these "extra" curricular activies is a bunch of bunkem.

    My kids are absolute little bears.

    And its the direct result from not enough free time, and too much extra-curricular.  And our schedule is so mild to most.

    I do not ever want to get sucked into the drive them everywhere every night of the week crap.  I don't like who they become. 

  •  

    Good morning

    Life is very very very busy.   Game again today.  Yesterday we had a bball practice and Awana.  Tomorrow I have to grocery shop, and Saturday we have the Awana Grand Prix. 

    Yesterday I had a nice little run-away which is helping the stress level of everything that's being done.  Oh and I forgot Saturday we celebrate Jamari's birthday.  So lots of stuffies.   *shrieks*

    Yesterday when I got back from running away my dad was in the yard.  He and Rob put a big dent in the latest tree that came down.  Even though dad gave us a bigger saw in November It wasn't really big enough for the butt of this tree.   So dad spent about 45 minutes doing what would have taken Rob days.  Its all about having an expert you know. 

    100_0275

    Dad also taught Rob a few more tricks to the trade.  Each time they work together dad teaches, and Rob gains a ton more experience.  My dad once upon a time actually seriously considered being a teacher.  He would have been a excellent one.  He loves kids, and he's a good teacher.  He quickly decided however dealing with p/s administrators would kill him.  He's never had a lot of patient for b/s.   *snigger*   So he continues to do what he's good at.   

    100_0273

    When they were all done playing with the tree the kids and I went and counted the rings on the butt.  Grandpa came and helped.  The irony in all of this is as big as this tree is...its not that old.  Its only 45 years old.   We counted.  The rings on it were HUGE.  I guess Spruce like it in this wet soggy country.  LOL

    After that he spent a few minutes teaching Rob how to replace the pull cord in the saw.   This is something that breaks pretty frequently.   It will save us quite a bit of $$ now that Rob can do it himself.    And a lot of aggravation knowing that the saw doesn't have to go into the shop.

    100_0272

    A small part of me could almost be jealous over the time Rob spent with dad.  But instead I'm just thrilled that he gets to spend time getting to know him, and learn a bit about all the reasons I love both of them.   And why when you get below my dad's loud bravado Rob and he are a lot alike. 

    So onwards and upwards.  And woo stop the merry go-round. 

  • Nendil

    This is my youngest charrie with an i.d.  Well he'll have an i.d. shortly.  Isn't he cute?  Gotta love those eyes. 

  • Good morning

    Last nights game was a blast.  The first half the kids were just attempting to figure it out.  They'd only had two practices after all.  At half-time the score was 8-0 for the other side.  I had visions of last year in my head and just rather cringed.  But the kids were having fun, and trying hard.  Samuel and Zeria had both attempted multiple baskets and just missed each one.  Rob snuck in for his few lunch break minutes and then left.  Half time came the kids sat and breathed hard.  And then all of a sudden they figured out how to put it together.  Samuel made 3 baskets and Zeria one.  The game ended tied.   They were thrilled.   Kaylin was able to catch and pass the ball about 4 times.  This is more then enough for her very first game.

    I was the maniac mommy who cheered loudly, and had a blast. 

    I loved the kids new coach.  I've known him for a long time.  He was my little brothers boyfriends dad.  (get that?)  Anyhow due to my parents influence he adopted a second family (2 girls).   One of his daughters is old enough to play.  He was having a blast...and laughing so hard at all the foobars the kiddos committed.  You know running the full court without dribbling once.  *snicker*

    And then there was a couple kiddos who ran/dribbled to the wrong basket.  (oops).  Anyhow it was a riot to watch Mr C coach.  He was laughing so hard!

  • Good morning


    Short night last night.  VERY short.  Jeremiah is teething and coming off the last of a cold.  As a result he was up multiple times crying.  Rob and I are walking zombies. 


    Ahh well he's our last baby...this too shall pass...right?


    And for those of you who have toddlers.  I highly recommend the Belly Button book.  It is Jeremiah's favorite.  I was gonna link it, but apparently xanga doesn't have that feature anymore.  Ponders when they removed it.  *growls*  Anyhow its called Belly Button Book! by Sandra Boynton.  Its a bunch of hippo potamus' celebrating belly buttons.  Rob and I both have it about half memorized.  This comes from reading it about 50x a day.  *snicker*  But its okay, cause Jer giggles each time we read it. 


    The three oldest have there first basketball game tonight.  It should be entertaining.  Little kids sports always are.  I will attempt to take pictures, but of course I will have Jer to chase, so who knows how well that will go.  Kaylin is very nervous about it.  But the big kids are old pro's having played last year.  *snigger*

  • 100_0239


    You'll never guess what we did today.  (read sarcastically)  We headed back to the beach.  The weather was perfect for it.  And we had a lot of fun.  We ended up walking almost a mile along the beach.  When we hit the stopping spot Rob climbed up to the road and jogged back for the van while we continued to enjoy the beach for a few minutes.    The kids were in their element flying every which way.  The above picture was quite appropriate.   They just love exploring. 


     


     


     


    100_0241


    Samuel's favorite beach game is tag.  And he plays it well. 


    100_0244


    I loved this shot of him as he shouts in victory that he beat the wave again.  *grin*


     


    100_0249


    Jamari and Rainee playing tag as well.


    100_0260


    And then these two shots.  AFter the beach it was still beautiful so we drove along the coast for awhile.  Samuel spotted this fella.  And Rob pulled into a look-out and I walked back to "shoot" him.   He cooperated for several very nice frames, and then took off.  I managed to catch him mid take-off.  I so love the zoom on this camera!!!!!  No tripod.  Just point, aim, shoot.  Too cool


    100_0256


    The fella by the way is a eagle.  I've studied a bunch of bird pictures, and I'm still not sure which one he is.  He's either a yearling or a golden eagle.  You can decide.  All I know is he's majestic, and I'm a teensy bit jealous of his ability to fly. 

  • 100_0210


    Gray and grungy day today, but no rain.  So we headed to the beach.  Everybody bundled up in snow suits first of course.  It was a beautiful day to go to the beach.    There wasn't a lot of beach as it was high tide, but we dodged waves, and explored the little bit of shore there was.  It was a piece of beach we haven't gone to before.  Its a bit farther from home then where we usually go.  (20 minutes versus 15 ).   But its a definite must return.


    100_0212


    The kids had a blast playing tag with the waves.  And this particular rock they are standing on got covered in water on several occasions, but I never timed the picture just right.  LOL   Needless to say we all had to change when we got home.  (myself included).  It was COLD water.  But still a good adventure since we were close enough to home to get warm quickly. 


    The waves crash right into the trees.  The trees on this beach were covered in ivy.  It was very cool.     I kept trying to capture pictures to show the secret hidey hole feel of it, but didn't manage very well.    The lighting was just a bit weird.  It felt dark, but pictures kept coming out too bright.  Go figure.


    100_0221


    I have a sinus headache today that went completely away at the beach, and came back when I got back inside.  Too bad its frickin' cold, or I'd go hang outside. 


    100_0226


    Another view of our hidey-hole that we stood and played in.  Behind us was the sweetest little baby water fall that the kids played in for awhile.  We never stay long when we go to the beach on a day like this.  Just too cold.  But still a very nice break from reality.


    100_0224


    Now if my headache would just go away it has the makings of a good weekend

  •       100_0208


    Its not about the muscles.  Its not about the good build.  Its not about the income he brings in, or doesn't as the case may be.  Its about this.


    Love bears all things.

  • change in the air?

    Rob just called me.  His boss has informed him he will be giving notice for July 1st.  He's offering the job to Rob.   It would be a 5 day a week job instead of the four he has.  We're not sure if there's any pay raise.  But it would be a challenge, and what he's currently doing is BORING. 


    We've known this was a possibility since last summer when Rob job-shadowed him.  Now we wait and see if it'll actually happen.  It will definitely change things up in this house.


    Because I've NEVER had Rob home in the evenings every night.  NEVER in almost 8 years of marriage.  And if he took this job...I would.  That would be cool...and a bit strange too.  I think one of the reasons our marriage works so well is I have time to miss him.  That being said there's a lot of things I miss out on cause he's not here in the evenings.


    The homeschool group in Forks meets on Monday nights (for moms)  I can't go as Rob works.  This is just a small piece of similar things that I miss.  So hmmm I guess we'll see if it happens when it happens.