Month: November 2006

  • I have water!!!!  The heating pad on the frozen spot worked, and its also warming up as well. 

    And its raining.

    *cheers*

    And starts dish washer before the power goes out or something.  *snicker*

    The next step is a shower...I haven't had one since Sunday.  Can we stay stinky??  *snickers* some more.

    And Sarah we function on a well, so if the power goes out we are without water as well.  Which is why it froze because we couldn't run the water when the power was out. 

    Which is why the generator is sounding better and better. 

    Life looks suddenly better...you know its amazing what you take for granted until your forced to live without it. 

  • .Good morning

    And today's weather is brought to you via Rainydame.

    It is snowing lightly, and expected to do so all day.  The temperature is 20 F or -5 Celsius for those Farenheit deprived   Pokes Faith.

    And due to our power being out for so long yesterday in the cold weather.  We lost water.  *sigh*  We think the pipes are frozen.  Rob is under the house with a blow dryer.    What we need is a little space heater, but we don't have one.   So shrugs we shall see.  

    We left water dripping before the power went out, but alas its not an option when there's no power.

    See its not the winter weather that's annoying me Faith, its the consequences of the weird winter weather.   We usually get power outages, and wind yucky
    s in February not late November.  Well some wind in November, but not like this.  So for the month of November we've evacuated because of flood, had our power out for long periods of time, more times then I can count anymore, can't drive due to the roads, and now now water.

    Its such a joy November.

  • 100_0419
    Oh look I've had power for almost an hour and a half.  Of course I'm attemping a real blog which means it will konk out on me mid-way.  *snort*
    I thought ya'll might like some snow pictures.  First we have Kaylin who was a dingle berry and didn't put her snow-suit on.  She eventually figured out mommy WAS right, and its warmer if you do.  (some kids are slow ya know)
    100_0420
    Zeria playing on the snow covered firewood.
    100_0422

    Jamari exploring the snow

    100_0424
    Rainbug all bundled up enjoying it as well. 

    100_0426

    These were taken yesterday.  We still have all this snow, and a bit more, but its been blown out of the trees due to mild-wind.  So not quite as fairy world like.


  • #$*@(*#

    And the power went out again for another two hours.

    They apparently jury-rigged it while waiting for the part, and shrugs it could go out again.

    As a result.  I won't be online as I don't want to get in the middle of something and loose it.

    SORRY.

  • And another day without power.  Its  been on for 5 minutes.

    I totally rearranged my living room...so that its the most efficient with outside light.  It made dealing with the power outage much more tolerable.  We were able to read etc, without squinting. 

    I must say though...I'm ready for spring...and its not December yet. 

  • Well we got some more.  So we're up to about 4 inches now.   Its quite beautiful out there.   Rob had to  get a ride home from  work as his van was frozen shut, and he wasn't sure he trusted it to get him home anyhow.  

    100_0416

    Everybody's scrambling to put snow clothes on and go out in it.  We'll get everybody out just in time for the first kid to come in cold.    Its a given.  *snicker*   Daddy is gonna take Jer out in it, and then go sleep for a couple hours.  He suspects he'll be working a double tonight as well as the roads are rather crappy.

    A foot plus was dumped on both of the mini-passes between here and town.   We will just stay home today, nothing we need out there.  LOL
    100_0395

    I thought I should share Jer's birthday pictures.  The first is him in his birthday clothes.   He wasn't in a very smiley mood over his birthday thanks to being sick, sick, sick.    But he's still cute

    100_0399

    This is Jeremiah trying to figure out what to do with the candles.  He never did quite get it.  But he *did* like his birthday cake.  Quite a bit actually.  We all like mudpie.  Soooooooo nummy!

    This last picture was actually taken Saturday morning.  But it just makes me giggle so I had to share.  Little boys are piggy!!

    100_0403

    Okies so thats life from this house.  Nice crisp and cold.

    100_0418


  • Yes  I' m alive

    Just been enjoying the holiday.  We did Thanksgiving Friday thanks to Rob's schedule.

    I've also been umm not enjoying the power-out.  Its been out since noon.  About 8 hours.  But AM happy in that Rob had heard it would be tomorrow about noon that it would be on, and it came on about 15 minutes ago.  That being said its surged about 4x, so it could go out at any minute.

    There was a foot of snow dumped most places, and major trees down across the roads apparently.  We live sooooooo close to the ocean that we got less then a inch.

    Its all rather bizarre actually because last year at this time we got the foot, because we still lived up in the foothills.  Now we rarely get it.  My kids still enjoyed what little bit we got, although I think they were hoping for more. 

    Anyhow, I'm almost over this cold, and starting to feel somewhat normal.

    Rob is doing an overtime today due to the roads being closed, and nobody being able to get out here.  The roads were closed due to slides/trees.  Its so great to live at the end of the earth.  *snicker*  Ahh well overtime with a weekend deferential just doesn't hurt my feelings this close to Christmas.

    Edits;  Oh lovely Rob volunteered for the first overtime.  The nightshift crew can't get in.  So now he's been "mandatoried" for another 8 hours.  Woo see that overtime rack up.


  • Jerbud is feeling much better.  We however are exhausted after cuddling him basically all day.  He started perking up about 3:00, but went to bed quite early.  He then of course proceeded to wake up an hour later thinking that was enough.  He's back in bed again, and his exhausted mommy hope's he stays there.

    Rob and I had a little conversation about what we wanted for Thanksgiving, and we're now both on the same page, and ready to enjoy ourselves, instead of stress ourselves out.

    We have *never* had one just with our family.  And it seems weird and off somehow.  I've actually been a bit homesick today.

    And I can't emotionally, or physically provide the kind of Thanksgiving you can provide when 30 people are there.  That's a LOT of food.  *snigger*   So we came up with a doable and enjoyable menu, rather then the over-productive grandiose one I had in my head.

    We will have Turkey, Mashed potatoes, olives, and some kind of salad, and mud pie for desert.    And that's it.  I was dreaming about 3 kinds of deserts, and four kinds of salads, and dressing, and well you get the picture.  *snicker*  Its not happening.  And we'll have fun this way.

    I'm gonna run into Walmart and the grocery store in the morning, and Rob will put the turkey in the oven for me.  The rest can be done when I get back, or heck I might even just splurge and pick up a nice salad at Safeway's deli which would be a nice treat. 

    I am not my mom, and I need to establish my own traditions.   We will then attempt to go to the beach Saturday...if it doesn't rain.  And if it does oh well, we'll come up with something to do. 

  • Darn it.

    Jeremiah woke up from his nap yesterday with a fever of 102.8.   His fever has gone down some, but he's absolutely miserable.  I think we will be postponing Thanksgiving until tomorrow.  He's only happy if daddy is standing up with him. 

    He has a stuffy nose, and a fever.  There's a possibility of a earache, but the only option for that today is the ER 35 minutes away.  And that sounds icky.  So hopefully the tylenol cold will kick in again, and he'll be somewhat okay.  

    For the rest of you

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  • Its Thanksgiving tomorrow and Jeremiah's birthday.  He is two.  We are celebrating his birthday today, so as to not take away from Thanksgiving tomorrow.  He got his gifts this morning, and is currently laying under a desk playing with a piece of one of them.  *snicker* 

    The trick today of course is to convince the other kiddos that those are HIS toys, not theirs.   His pressy from us was a red rider wheelbarrow, and a new outfit.

    100_0393

    My camera wasn't cooperating so I don't have a great picture of the wheelbarrow yet.  I left it out in the car and it was fogged up in the house when I was trying to take pictures, but nevertheless here's the wheelbarrow.  He was totally unsure what to do with it first, but seems to like it now that daddy showed him.  The first thing he tried to do of course was climb into it, and immediately fell.  He's a boy
    100_0390

    I'll have to snag some more pictures after awhile that are a LOT more clear then that one.  Ahh well we can't have everything.

    I still have my cold.  My node feels better, but its sunk into the hack, hack, hack stage.   I needless to say didn't get a ton of sleep last night.   

    Edit;  And my site is working again.  I'm not sure what went wonky, but its back, and all decorated for Christmas.