October 14, 2006
-
I relate to this cartoon. Points up. Its so hard to do anything without being interupted, interupting myself, or some family emergency.

Yesterday was...full.
We had to run to Forks to get mud for the drywall. We all decided to go since it was Rob's day off.
A couple of the kiddos had spending money, due to being hard workers, and were allowed to buy something. Samuel had earned money, but he was putting it towards a Gamecube game he bought on e-bay. Jamari had no money...cause he doesn't work very often.
Samuel decided it was embarassing that he didn't have money, so he decided to shoplift.
Again.
This store manager was much "meaner". *sigh* But still didn't truely scare Samuel. We chose a different discipline route this time. And Samuel had to do hard-labor with Rob for several hours yesterday. His other on-going discipline until further notice is he will be riding in the cart in the grocery store like a baby.
We did a lot of talking about the way to approach things Rob and I. And decided that removing privlidges doesn't work with Samuel, it teaches resentment, and he forgets the reason he's been disciplined. Thus the reason for hard labor. It was productive, and Rob made him work HARD, and its swift.
I'll tell you in ten years wether we made the right decision.

Comments (7)
Here is an idea....although controversial and humiliating.
Make a shirt that you keep in the van....Have the shirt printed up with....
"I am a shoplifter, keep your eye on me"
then he can wear it into stores. Or at least threaten him with wearing it.
"I'll tell you in ten years wether we made the right decision."
You make me laugh even when you are writing about more serious issues. Humor is a good medicine, the best!
My humble opinion, (as a troubled child - parented the wrong way) I think that allowing him to see that to have things you must work for it and for violationg laws and such you may have to work harder is the right thing to do. Be consistant. ALWAYS. Sit and explain to him the rules and what he can expect if he breaks them. Give the him the chance to earn money as equally as the other children and also don't shame him with his 'sins' or 'wrong doings'... It's not how Jesus Christ parents us... Punish or correct, forgive and forget and allow him clean slate, remembering how many times we falter and fail and come short of what God knows we can be. Remind him that making bad choices doesn't make him a bad person and my biggest advice, always handle him in private with you and dad alone as much as possible... never around the other kids. Exposing him won't change, only teach him to sneak or hide it better.
So, if you already are doing those things, then keep on moving forward and keep your chin up!!!
Hang in there momma!
Kimberly
oh, I SOOO relate.... that is why we have started running laps... swift, laborous, and removes the excess energy that usually encouraged the behavior in the first place.
HUGS... you are doing a great job!!!
{{{hugs}}} and prayers
Love the cartoon!
*sigh* What to do with that kid, eh? UGH. I think what you are doing is the best that can be done. He'll just have to learn.
I think Kimberly has it right on.
That is what we all need to do- trust God every step of the way as we parent our children.
Comments are closed.