Month: April 2005

  • fun night with hubby tonight.


    We went and returned my parents truck and tried a new restaurant out. 


    Probably we won't be going back.   Poor service, but sure was pretty inside. 


    After that we went for a drive in the Dungeness Valley.   It was beautiful.   We stopped at  a little look-out beach to nurse/change Jerrymiah, and Rob spotted a BIG bird.   We watched it for a bit, and I muttered about not having the binoculars when we needed them.  


    He said "We do there under the seat."   So I got them out and checked out the bird.  I *think* it was a female eagle...got to go look at a bird book to double check.   Just as he was passing them back to me for a second look a bald eagle flew up.  


    I watched it, and then he joined a second bald eagle and they flew together for awhile.   It was just awesome.  I was cheering and saying wow as I stared through the binoculars.


    I love flight.  It fascinates me.  Its probably why I write winged charries.  But, I've never been able to write how those birds made me feel tonight.  Its a challenge I'm going to try to put to paper very very soon. 


    ~~~~~~~~


    Tomorrow is gonna be a LONG day.  with a capital L. 


    It will be our churches annual meeting, as well as potluck.   As our pastor retired last week the discussion will probably be endless.   We have to be there, I think we need a say in this, or at least to be aware of what is going on.   It is a time that needs to be bathed in prayer.    Rob is excited for our church through the elders training, and worried because of the interpersonal crap that goes on.    I'm standing on a fence.  I want to fall off the fence into excitement, but every time I do I'm faced with another crisis that rather unlooses the stability under my feet.


    I think...I shall pray.


    "They that wait upon the Lord, shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles.   They shall run and not grow weary, they shall walk and not faint.   Teach me Lord to wait."  Isa 40:31

  • The great picnic table adventure.


    So for Mothers Day I wanted a picnic table.   We haven't had one, and we love to eat outside.  So we started calling around. 


    NOBODY had 'em.   Oh we could get plastic pieces of junk, and medal/glass junk.   But I just wanted a good old fashioned wooden one.


    So this morning we were gonna do a couple junk-store kinda stops, and the local farmers markets to see if we could find something.


    Nothing at Farmers Market.   Nothing a couple other places.  


    So we stopped at  a used furniture store I hadn't been before, and I complimented the ladies for such a nice store.  It really was.  BEAUTIFUL stuff for reasonable prices.   They wanted to know what I was looking for.  I told them.   And we talked for a couple more minutes.  "What kind?"   A lady who was obviously visiting with the lady in charge asked. 


    "Just a old fashioned picnic table."   "I have one you can have."   I stared at her for a minute.  "Are you serious?"  "Yes."     "How much?"   She thought for a moment and said.  "45$" 


    Wooo!   "Its in my garage.  Follow me home."   And sooooooo we did.


    Its a nice table, no benches, but for $45 tis just fine.   And I have my picnic table...for MUCH less then originally suspected.


    I like adventures like this. 


     

  • Three names you go by:
    1.   Tonia

    2.   Mom
    3.   Dear

    Three screen names you've had:
    1. Rainydame


    2.   Catherine Rain Alcarin
    3.   Raineedame


    Three physical things you like about yourself:
    1.     hair
    2.     eyes
    3.     legs from knee down


    Three physical things you don't like about yourself:
    1. Weight
    2.  chin (thanks grandma)


    3.  thighs

    Three parts of your heritage:
    1. Irish
    2. German
    3.  Scottish

    Three things that scare you:
    1. Loosing a child


    2.  Tight spaces


    3.  Getting out of  control angry
    Three of your everyday essentials:
    1. Mt. Dew


    2. Alone time (hahaha)


    3. Computer time

    Three things you are wearing right now:
    1. watch


    2. glasses


    3.  2 rings (wedding & celtic knot)



    Three of your favorite bands or musical artists:
    1. Silverwind


    2. Rich Mullins


    3.  Twila Paris

    Three of your favorite songs [at the moment]:
    1.    You are my Hiding Place


    2.   Living in Paradise


    3.   Some Beach

    Three things you want in a relationship:
    1. Trust
    2. Honesty


    3. Flexibility

    Two truths and a lie [in no particular order]:
    1. I have more Canadian relatives then American ones.


    2. I told my husband to propose or I'd push him in a pond.


    3. I did push him in the pond.

    Three physical things about the opposite sex that appeal to you:
    1.  physical strength (not bulky just built)


    2. bumb


    3.  hair

    Three of your favorite hobbies:
    1. Internet
    2. Writing
    3. Scrapbooking

    Three things you want to do really badly right now:
    1. A date night (no babysitter)


    2.  Swim


    3.  Hike

    Three careers you're considering: (If I had to work)
    1.   Respitory Therapist


    2.   Writer


    3.   Music Teacher

    Three places you want to go on vacation:
    1. Hawaii


    2. Bahamas


    3. Eastern U.S.

    Three kids names you like:
    1.   Catherine Marie


    2.  Jeffrey Paul


    3.   Charlotte Anne

    Three things I want to do before I die:
    1. Raise my children


    2. Go snorkeling in tropics again


    3. Travel

    Three people who have to take this quiz now:
    1. Whomever wants to
    2.
    3.

  • CAlling all homeschooling mommys with links.  Or whoever else might have it.


    Somewhere..at least one somewhere I've seen a list of Christian character traits.   I googled several ways, and didn't really get what I wanted.


    Any one have one?  Please? 


    TIA


    ~~~~~~~~~~


    Last week the leaders put an incredible amount of thought into giving each Cubbie in Awana a trait they felt they exhibited.   They also wrote a Scripture verse with these.   Kaylin's was gentle.   And it fit.   Actually I knew most of the kiddos there, and they all fit.  It was a lot of fun.


    For reasons unknown we started talking about it at dinner tonight.   Zeria heard the word and instantly wanted it defined.  Samuel said he knew what it was.  "I know what character is...thats what they have on cartoons, You know cartoon characters."


    And yup, that is one use of the word character.  Samuel is another.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~


    Speaking of Samuel funnys.   He is just becoming a delight.  He has the funniest way of saying things all of a sudden.  Or maybe I'm just listening closer.


    While Rob was making breakfast, and I was desperately catchin a couple extra z's Jeremiah started cranking.   Samuel voluntarily came over and entertained his little brother.  Jeremiah LOVES Samuel.   When they were done Rob said.  "Thank you Samuel you were a big help taking care of Jeremiah.  I don't know how I could of done it without you."


    Later in the day (much later)  Rob overheard Samuel tell Jamari.   "Daddy says I'm a big helper.  He doesn't know how he could do anything without me."


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Last summer I read a book that Kayte aka Daylesmilk had talked about a lot ever since I met her.   Love Languages for Children.    I just realized how much it has impacted our family.   Because the day I read it...I truely honestly could not think of one thing positive I could say about Samuel.  I had to sit for over 30 minutes prayerfully thinking about ONE.


    Now...due to thinking and praying so hard...I have a hard time coming up with a negative about him.


    Wow.   Its amazing how dangerous the mind-set of negativity becomes.


    I realized yesterday, that I have a dangerous mind-set about something else.


    Myself.


    There's a lot of reasons for it, but I do.   I am in capable of recognizing my worth.  I can NOT accept a compliment at face value.   Rob gets so mad at me in a loving way when I disc myself.   But I do it entirely too frequently.   Because if *I* do it...I could prevent someone else from saying it to me.  


    Its time to start changing another negative pattern.     I don't figure this ones going to be any easier then the last one.


    1.  I am a good mom.


    2.  I am a good wife.


    3.  I have become a good housekeeper.


    My mind stops there.  Its a start.


     

  • Oh on a purely fluffy note.


    I HIGHLY recommend Sahara.  Its is absolutely wonderful.  Funny, action packed.  And super duper clean.


    SQUEAKY clean.


    No nudity...none.   No sex.   Just fun.


    So good Rob would love to take Samuel to it.


    And some beautiful scenery.    And if you can't go to the movies definitely worth buying when it comes out.  


    Critics of course don't like it....I was trying to remember the last time I liked a movie that the critics like...maybe it was never????


    Edited to put a link in for MunchkinMommy

  • and I'm not going anywhere today.


    It was just too much.


    Didn't know i was going to?  That's okay.


    I woke up in the midst of a awful anxiety attack because I knew I had to go.    I haven't had my house to myself all week.   And I've had a headache for four days...not to mention the stomache bug I had most of Monday.  I'm just stressed as a result.


    I was supposed to go to Bible Study.  I haven't actually managed to make it.  I may just tell my sister its not going to happen.  *sigh*  We shall see.


    But for now...I have my house to just my family.   The kids are planted in front of the tv, and I can stare.   I like staring.   I haven't gotten to do it in quite awhile.


    I can also get up and move around if I want.   And attack the little piles of crap sitting on every possible place to sit.   The house is clean..its just cluttered.   Because I haven't been able to walk around my house and put stuff away thanks to my walk-way being full of drywall.   So I will attack them.


    I need to destroy the spirit of confusion in this house.  Its not helping my head ache any at all.   My desk was attacked, and is now 90% orderly.  When I'm done nursing which ever kid I'm nursing...I'm starting to loose track, I'll deal with the last of the crap.  


    And slowly move around getting stuff in order.  Order is good.   I made the right choice to be anti-social today.  LOL


     

  •      


    MMMMM tuna sandwich!  Thanks mommy.   Okay he didn't actually get tuna...but he was quite delighted with it...and wow messy.   And yes his feet are ALWAYS in the air.


      


            


    See look at his toes.   They are the worlds greatest toy.  They never get left anywhere, and you can't throw them on the ground where your mommy won't pick 'em up.   Their just perfect.


                    


    Is mom taking MORE pictures of me?  Oh good grief.


    Whats wrong with this picture?  Oh yeah..boots.  You wanted me to wear two of the same kind, but I love both pairs!


                           


    And would you please tell me when my baby got this big?   She was only ten months old when I joined the internet world......


     


                  


    And yes it was this bright and springy today.  Just wonderful.  Hot.  Birds singing.  And lovely!


         

  • Good morning


    Perspective is an intresting word.   Ever looked in a old mirror where things are slightly blue and just a bit distorted.   Its rather the way I'm looking at things.


    Of course..I've been sick, and had allergy induced headaches, so that isn't precisely helping.  


    I've done a lot of praying...and thoroughly enjoyed my family.  I also got a lot done yesterday.


    Today I have to do my grocery shopping...was too miserable Monday to go, and yesterday my nephew and 2 nieces were here all day.


    My bil is finishing up odds and ends of sheet rock in my house.  All the bits and pieces are going to be FINISHED when he's done.   *cheers madly*  On top of this....above and beyond what we hired him for he's rehanging our bedroom door...so it opens and closes the way it should..instead of opening in the middle of the night  due to a "ghost"   And then refusing to open without it going screeeeech all over the concrete floor.    Yesterday while he was upstairs hanging rock in the upstairs hallway he took the time and fixed my girls light...they have a light that turns on from a switch rather then a pull cord.  Six people have looked at that and tried to fix it...and now its working.  its just a WOW! 


    So that has been a lot of fun.


    Yesterday without internet to distract me I took the time to have battle with my oldest about her attitude about reading.   It wasn't a one time battle, but when we were done she had read her whole reading assignment.   I'm struggling on this one.  I need to do some research about ADHD, and soon.  


    The internet.  I love it...but sometimes it comes close to ruling me, instead of supporting me...when it gets that bad, its time to back up...and regroup. 


    Today will be a not by choice reinforcement.  Grocery shopping, and nieces and nephew again today.   So if the boards have something urgent...their just gonna have to recognize real life interferes.  NOt that they've been moving tons any how.


    We have all healthy kids...its astounding.  Now if I could join them we'd have a completely healthy family.  yeah right.   One of my nieces has a nasty cold, I'm sure my kids will all be coming down with it about Sunday.  *snicker*


    On that note...off to shop. 

  • Today was a day of survival.


    And....I did.


    I think my kids are asleep...although its doubtful at this point.


    I have been extremely unrational today...and feel incredibly invisible.    I have this extreme desire to disconnect from the internet and never reconnect.    I have to wonder somedays if it has helped..or hurt my family.


    I'm tired.


    I'm not going to be rash.   But....I don't know.  Just crap


    Haven't felt the need for a internet break in a long time...but I may disappear for a couple days to regain perspective.   Whatever that is.


    Cause...I feel invisible. 


    I'm tired of trying too hard to be noticed.  I'm tired of not being me, in an attempt to be noticed.   I'm just tired.   And...crap.


    Don't worry not gonna be rash.  Just need to do some praying, and find some perspective.  And remind myself how much I hate Mondays.


    Finally brother whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are lovely, if there be any virtue, if there be any praise, think on these things. 

  • scuse me  I'm having a temper tantrum.


    #$@*#&$(*@#&$*@(#*$&*@(#
    @#$*@&#*$(@*#&$*(@#&$(*@(
    @#$*@(#*&$*#(*@&(#*&$(*@
    @#*$@(#*&$(@*#&$*@#(&$*@&#($*(


    thank you.