Month: March 2004

  • We're having this for dinner.


    And oh my goodness does it smell good!!!    Haven't made it before.   But it looks heavenly, and smells heavenly.   And all of our mouths are watering over it.   I'll tell ya in a hour or so if its as good as it smells.  *grin* 


    Mind you I had to add to my spice collection in order to make it.   Didn't own cumin, coriander, or cilantro.  Its okay.  Got them for .99 at Stock Market.      Is it dinner time yet??



    CROCKPOT BEEF FAJITAS


    red line


    1 1/2 pounds beef flank steak
    1 cup chopped onion
    1 green sweet pepper, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
    1 jalapeno pepper, chopped
    1 Tbsp. cilantro
    2 garlic cloves, minced (or 1/4 tsp. garlic powder)
    1 tsp. chili powder
    1 tsp. ground cumin
    1 tsp. ground coriander
    1/2 tsp. salt
    1 can (8oz) chopped tomatoes
    12 8inch flour tortillas
    Toppings: sour cream, guacamole, shredded cheddar cheese and salsa

    Cut flank steak into 6 portions. In any size crockpot combine meat, onion, green pepper, jalapeno pepper, cilantro, garlic, chili powder, cumin, coriander and salt. Add tomatoes. Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours or high 4-5 hours.

    Remove meat from crockpot and shred. Return meat to crockpot and stir. To serve, spread meat mixture into flour tortillas and top with toppings. Roll up.


    I give it two thumbs up.  It was DELICIOUS.   My own note.  I didn't shred the meat.  Just cut it in fajita size pieces.   The meat was incredibly tender and very flavorful.   And I made it when I had energy (8 am this morning)   Which is ALWAYS a bonus to me. 

  • Morning


    Long long night.    Rainee's alarms went off 4? 5? times.   They haven't gone off that frequently in quite awhile.   And it wasn't cause she pulled something out.   It just was.  


    Her lowest desat was 84.  Which is oh so NOT good.   And she stayed there for a nice long while.    All the while mommy is staring at the number convincing herself it was a dream.  Apparently I was tired. 


    And do we turn up the oxy?  Oh no...we just keep waking up for the alarms.   Our reasoning powers were umm not the greatest last night.


    Well tonight will start off at a liter.   And see if that helps.   I think she was probably just extremely tired as she had no nap yesterday.   So was sleeping even harder then normal.   At least that's what I hope. 


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Had a lot of fun at Alicia's.  May have said that last blog.  *snicker*   Rather tired this morning.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Surfed my alma mater last night.   And they have a new web-listing where you can contact class-mates you've lost contact with.  That was kind of fun.  So as soon as they manually confirm I'm alumni there's a couple people there that I can't wait to contact.  *grin*


    Plan to go swimming with the kids tonight.  Provided I'm feeling ok.   Last night I felt pretty good.    So it should be doable.


    Of course because I felt pretty good I began worrying.   Heard too many people say that early pregnancy if they started feeling good they had a miscarriage.  I know I'm goofy.   But the worry lurks back there in the corners.    Okay a little farther out then the corners.


    Headed out for my "alone" time.   And to get this day a movin.  Have a great day all.


     

  • Okies had to share the pictures of Kaylin in her birthday dress.  Now that I finally have the patience to upload them.  *grin*


    Had a lovely visit at Alicia's house.  Our kids played nicely...nothing was destroyed and it was lovely to have some fellowship again.  *grin*


                                


                                       


     


    And then this is Kaylin sleepin' at grandpas.  He was soooooo tickled that she trusted him to nap with him.  *grin*  



    Does she look white or what??  And no the film isn't funky.  She just is that white right now.....


     


     


     


             


     

  • For years I knew there was something wrong with my body.   But could get no answers.   All the symptoms pointed to low thyroid...but the tests said no...so I dealt with the exhaustion...and the weight gain.


    Now I'm watching my daughter fight the symptoms.   Low energy, mood swings....and the test says she has it.  But he absolutely will NOT treat her.   The numbers not high enough.


    I'm really frustrated. 


    So here's the deal.  In oxygen and babies they give babies the ultimate amount.   An adults "low" oxy isn't a worry until 90.  A baby they worry about at 94.   They want the baby's health to be at maximum doseage.


    Apparently when it comes to thyroid its the opposite.  If a adult had my daughters test results they'd put them on thyroid med.   But because children haven't been researched enough.   They won't.   He'll watch it.  Its a "concern".   But "I highly doubt that its the reason for her exhaustion."   BULL HICKY!


    He did sense my frustration and he did call a endrocrinologist.   And they agreed with him...apparently.    So I'm left knowing why my daughter is tired, and not knowing what to do about it.


    I think that the medical profession as a whole stinks.  I've thought that for a long time.   Their gods, and have all the power.   The only power I have is to walk away and refuse help...oh that's power NOT!


    Soooooooooooo  I guess I'm gonna research and see if theirs any so-called-natural substances that will help Kaylin.   Which I'm highly reluctant to do...but well she can't sleep life away. 

  • Basically I can't type.  *snicker*


    The last entry *SHOULD* say that he'll retest in a month.   Rob researched at work.  He got the same answer I did.   (that she should be being treated...and his info was outdated.)   So we're all rather confused.....


    Guess a phone call will clear it up...or make me get a second opinion one of the two.


    Dr. W has been so good with Rainee's asthma...but he can't be good with everything right?     Actually I think what is happening is he's been the new kid on the block...so willing to listen to parents.   But he's getting more experience...and ummm the last couple times I haven't been real happy with his pat answers.   We may be changin' doctors soon.   Time will tell. 


    Invited myself over to Alicia's today.   So the kids and I will go there about 1:00 or so.   Get my kids some wiggle time with other hs'ers.  *grin*    


    Lawn got mowed and weed-eated yesterday by my brother.  We "contracted" him this summer.  He's 15..he wants spending money.  LOL.    And I weeded my rose garden just before he came.   So the yard looks awesome.   This is gonna be so nice to not have to worry about this summer.  


    Other then that life moves on. 


     

  • got the results back way faster then expected.


    Diabetes and Anemia are a negative.


    The thyroid is not where it should be...but the doctor says he's not willing to treat it.  And its impossible her symptoms could be, because of that.


    I did a quick refresher on my hypothyroidism info.   And am coming up fighting mad.   According to his numbers that he gave me...she needs to be treated.   So we will be having "words" tomorrow.


    He did say he'll watch it closely and retest her tomorrow.   Basically I got the impression that he knows very little about hypothyroidism.   Which is understandable considering how much pediatric doctors need to know about how many things.


    So I guess the mommy gloves will come off tomorrow.


    Glad to breathe about diabetes though.  Just didn't like the sounds of that.....

  • 'Afternoon.


    Its been a day.


    Called the doctor first thing this morning.   Talked to a nurse.  She said an appointment tomorrow would be ok.   Then called back....asked some more questions...I want to see her today.   So phone call to mom for a babysitter and Kaylin and I headed to the doctors, and then to the hospital for labs.


    His first suspicion was diabetes.  Apparently I wasn't overreacting.  They did a urine test (due to the fact that she pead every fifteen minutes all day long )    And said there was no "bad" diabetes...but its still possible.


    So now the wait begins.  Thyroid, anemia, diabetes.   Its gonna be a fun wait.  (NOT!)  


    We've dealt with Rainee...we can deal with this right?


    If its none of the "biggies"   I'm gonna start pursuing allergies.   But gotta get the big worries outa the way first. 


    breathes.


    I'm not telling my mil until we have answers.  My bil has diabetes...a childhood kind.   She doesn't need this worry. 


    Do any of us???


     


     

  • Evening.


    Busy day today.  Church, and then my moms.  


    Came home and crashed HARD.  So very tired.


    Achey, nauseous, heartburn, aching body.  All in all a lovely combination.


    Trying to watch Forever After....but very little patience for it. 


    I was told today by my sister whose survived three pregnancies that HER cure for all morning sickness was to eat.  Period.  The nausea would go away.   And any other opinion then hers did not count.   This after I'd just finished eating and was rather wishing it would all come back up.     Oh yes and in front of my sil who puked every meal up for 6 months in both of her pregnancies.   And tried every cure known to man.   Face it morning sickness just is...and everybody deals with it differently.   And whatever food sounded good five minutes ago if suggested by your husband as a good food to eat...will definitely be the last one you want.      And if it smells don't make me eat it.   And everything smells.  *snicker*


    Oh well its a good diet plan.  *snort*   And only lasts what  seven more weeks or so???


    Kaylin is starting to worry me.  I absolutely have to get her to the doctor.  I've been talking about it for weeks...but keep putting it off.  Tomorow my goal is to get her an appointment.


    She's just tired.   Hows that for a symptom?   Hopefully the doctor doesn't laugh in my face.   Today at grandma's house her favorite place to be.   She comes over to me right after lunch and whispers.  "I want to sit with grandpa."   "So, go sit with him."  I said and told my dad what she wanted.   He was of course tickled and pulled her up onto his lap. 


    Five minutes later she was sound asleep and stayed that way the two and a half hours we were there.   Made Grandpas day.   But eventually my Dad's arms fell asleep and so Rob finally lifted her up and carried her to grandma's bed...she never woke.   She came home tired and laid on the couch the rest of the day.


    It just keeps going on.   And similar things have happened fairly frequently in the last several months. 


    I'd like her iron levels checked.   And I'd like her checked for diabetes.  (over reacting?)  Well its prevelant in BOTH of our families.  Its better to be safe then sorry.    My gut says somethings wrong.  I just wish there was a simple answer.  Definitely my mommy radar is going off. 


     

  • Afternoon.


    Well survived grocery shoppin'.   Just about did me in.  Sooooooo shaky when I was done.   Its a  very good thing DH was with me.   Apparently pregnancy does me in...knew that already.  *snort*


    Ricky (dogs "new" name) was gonna stay at home while we went grocery shopping but we could hear him crying in the house when we left, so he came with us.  (spoilt baby).   He cries every time one of the family members is out of his site.     He apparently likes us.


    When we got in our driveway we had ummm a suprise.   Our old dog Sweetie was there waiting for us.   She has some major boo-boo's on her still.    And a lot of shaved off spots to fix the damage.    The kids were ecstatic to see her, and gave her hugs and kisses, and were fairly sad when I reminded them she no longer lived with us.   Bangs head on desk.  It was not what I needed or we needed as I was already feelin' like crap.


    So while Rob unloaded groceries, I took Sweetie BACK to her new house.   And talked to our neighbours since the day they rescued her.   They had no problem with her visiting...we "expected" that.   Okay.   This is just the most bizarre thing apparently.   So apparently we have a second dog, that we don't have to feed. 


    We absolutely do NOT want our "real" dog Ricky to get involved with Sweetie as we do NOT want him to start visiting the neighbours.   Actually we just don't want him out in the yard that much.   Cause we would like to avoid all the issues we had with the other dogs.   Here's hoping.    He's currently curled up under my feet.


    He's a good dog.   No chewing, no garbage on the floor when we woke up this morning, and he had the run of the house.  *grin*   And I left him in the car with my McD's breakfast while we shopped...and it was still there when I got back.   Gasp a dog with manners, its all rather startling.


    No date night last night, so we get one tonight...in exactly 60 minutes.  *cheers*   Got to take a shower, and find my energy.   I'm just wiped today.   And dreaming of throwing up...I'm sure I'd feel better if I could.


    Tomorrow dinner is at my moms.  My aunt is down for a visit and the whole family is gonna invade so we can visit with her.   She has worked 30 years with the Canadian government and officially retired at the ripe old age of 55.   Her celebration?  A month at my moms.    She always puts my mom in a better mood...so it should be fun.


    I stayed off-line all day today.   Didn't even sit down at it til 2:30.   Which is fine...cause the boards are dead and have been all week.   It must be spring.  Or everybody's muses died at once.     I'm craving some posting...


    Well, gonna go shower and git beautiful...and hopefully go see Hidalgo.

  • Well we have a new dog.   Blonde, looks like a chihuahua  except its TOO tall.  They have NO idea what it is. 


    Its done growing and about 2 foot tall??  And very skinny.  Its face is beat up thanks to a big dog being overly agressive, but is sooooo quiet and gentle with my kids.


    Figured out the dog door already.  Looks like a winner.  *grin*


    Name?  Well they said his name was Ralphie....but we could change it...don't worry we will be.  (can we all say ewwwwwwwww!)


    I'll put pictures up eventually I'm sure.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    No date night.   Both of our regular sitters had a life.   So I have baked chicken, dressing, and salad for dinner.   And this is my favorite meal, and it sounds AWFUL.  Yeup its that time of the pregnancy.   Made my favorite eggs for breakfast and took exactly ONE bite.


    The current thing that I crave?   Lays potato chips and french onion dip.   I know its grose.   Especially when one eats it for breakfast.  Its also high carb.   But when you won't eat anything...I guess ya gotta do what you can. 


    No puking yet...but then I don't usually do that much...just spend most of every day wishing I could.  Gonna have to find myself a pregnant smile.  *snicker*


    Dentist was a suprise blessing...I thought it was another filling (still have two to do)   But instead it was my cleaning.   I needed that bit of a break.  And I've never had such a gentle hygenist before.   She was awesome.  *grin*


    Supposed to have grocery shopped yesterday, or today.  But haven't.  Must do it tomorrow.  Rob and all the kids are either gonna go with me, or I'll take Sam  and Zeria to help me, leaving Rob with the babies.   We are doing everything in our power to limit my activity NOW...in a desperate attempt to avoid the ptl of the last two pregnancies.   Will see if it works.   And yes the two oldest ARE helpful.   The issue with grocery shopping is all the bending to pick up things, loading, and unloading into cart and car.   It puts a huge strain on my abdomen and brings contractions.   Now usually I don't get those until oh week 20 or so...but we're hoping if we limit all those things now....I can continue on my life a little bit less painfully.   There's nothing like early labor for 15 weeks ya know. 


    Kids are hungry hoardes...their all up at the table singing Old McDonald...is that MY cue???