Month: February 2003

  • We're back.  Exhausted as you may imagine. Rainee was a trooper, and stayed happy and calm even though hungry.  She decided to re-take a binky the day before the procedure which was a god-send for her comfort level.  And a miracle as she hasn't taken one in a month.  They thought when they went in they were going to put one coil in her heart, they ended up putting in three, the hole was much bigger then originally suspected.    She's scooting on the floor happy and content, and not even aware that she has three little hairy metal things in her now.  I found a picture to show you what she had put in her if your intrested.   I apparently had sympathy pains for her and ended up getting fevered and stomache bug over night.    Nothing can ever be simple.  I'm thinking it was the suishi I ate, but who knows.   I'll catch up as I can, but first my kiddos need me.  We're just praising God that everything went extremely well.  When the anesthesiologist read her chart he was 98% sure it was gonna turn into an overnight stay, but she fooled him. 


                             

  • Good morning


    Well two more hours and we're on our way.  GOOD news.  The childrens hospital said we could feed Rainee until 4:30 am because breast milk is considered a clear liquid.    YEAH, that will make life much, much easier.


    My kiddos are running around like chickens with their heads cut off attempting to "pack" their bags.  They want to help.  BWAHAHAHA  oh so NOT helpful. 


    Princess is at the moment packing Rainee's toys.  She actually does a good job of that, and its her own special job in getting Rainee ready for a hospital stay.


    Sadly, HD's bag never got unpacked from his Last stay with grandma.  So, I guess I'll unpack it before packing it.


    Seems like we just did this~~oh that's right we did. 


    Gonna do a teensy bit of shopping today as a relaxer once we get over to Seattle and have beat Rush hour.


    Poor HD couldn't go to sleep last night he was so sad that mommy was going to Seattle again.  I finally rocked him to sleep in my arms.  I haven't done that since forever.   He was very precious sleeping there.


    Midge didn't have a nap yesterday and fell asleep in my arms nursing as well.   It was good to have some special cuddle times with my big kids.  They are getting the short end of the stick these  days.


    Well, everybody has the packing bug, so I guess I'll go join them, before things get too out of control. 

  • Good morning


    Its BEAUTIFUL outside all be it extremely cold.   I'm not sure what's happening today.  I'm contemplating mopping my floor, something I haven't done since Rainee was born.  Its been mopped don't freak, I just haven't done it, my sister or C our old baby sitter did it.    We will see.


    So last night we had three babies in bed/bedroom with us.  And one of them whimpered all night long.  Kaylin was not a happy camper.  We were not sure what was wrong with her, she just kept whimpering.  I'm hoping this morning she can tell us.  It wasn't continual whimpering, it was just every once and awhile.  Right now she's actually sleeping in, so hopefully she wakes up healthy and happy.


    We went for a beautiful drive yesterday, and a short brief cold play at the pier.  Just too cold to stay long.  I took pictures, but they didn't turn out great, so I think I'll probably not share.


    Rob and I went grocery shopping last night, so we're stalked up again.  Upgraded our bottled water situation.     We don't go into too much disaster preparedness, but this seems like a reasonable plan.  We don't have enough to last too long, but we have a creek across the road we could boil from, and a mile up the road a neighbour with an artesian well that is willing to share.  So hopefully, we'd be okay.   Beings we live in the country we always have extra food set aside, one never knows when one is gonna be house bound.


    HD has been listening to his daddy.  We are never quite sure with him.  But yesterday when I was urging him to hurry up.  He looked at me and in this quiet sweet voice says.  "yeah, yeah, yeah don't worry."   He sounded JUST like Rob.   And it was all I could do not to snicker.  The words in and of themselves sound disrespectful, but you have to hear the tone.  snicker.  It was too cute. 


    Have to find my breast pump and make sure its working.  Think I may need it Thursday while the surgery's going on.  Besides the fact Rainee's not allowed to nurse for 12 hours before.  That is a LOOOOONG time.  And its gonna be a looooong night Wednesday night.  She's been nursing about every hour and a half.  I have no idea what she's gonna do when she discovers she can't eat.  She won't take a binky anymore, so it could be a terrible awful no good night.


    Ever noticed that when a war/rebellion happens its because we are pointing out our differences, not our similarities?  I'm not goinig on a peace rampage,  its just an observation.  We can only fight if we think we're different or better then anyone else.  Something to think about.


    Father God, let the details go smoothly in the next couple days, and let me trust you and not give into the anxiety swirling around in my head.  In your sons name, Amen

  • Good morning


    My new xanga look is brought to you by Kaylin.  She says that its mommy, and Baby rae-rae (rainee) and Kaylin.  Mommy is the biggest one.  And she's missing a arm.  (according to Kaylin)  Personally I thought I was missing a head in the picture, but hey.     Its the first thing she's drawn that was truely recognizable.  So I thought it must be her turn to decorate my xanga site. 


    Rainee was EXTREMELY cranky yesterday, which is so not like her.  But when she finally had a blow-out diaper the cranks went away.  Which was just about bed time.    I think eating all that solid food was hard on her system.


    I didn't blog yesterday 'cause I spent most of the day bouncing her trying to calm her down.


    We took the kids out for dinner at the buffet place last night.  They've changed ownership, and the food was actually GOOD now.    So we will be going back.


    The ladies at my church were so caring yesterday, and made up a huge care basket for me yesterday.  All kinds of little odds and ends I might need at the hospital etc.  And some one else gave us already paid for ferry tickets for both directions of the ferry.  And someone else has paid for both of our motel nights.


    We didn't need these blessings.  We aren't  financially strapped, and we feel so undeserving of the things.  But yet feel so blessed and encouraged that people are carrying us along in their prayers and in the little ways that they can. 


    Two more days and then we're headed to Seattle to get Rainee's heart fixed.  So scarey.


    I will bless the Lord at all times, His praise shall continually be in my mouth.  My soul shall make its boast in thee Lord the humble shall hear thereof and be glad.  Oh magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.  I sought the Lord and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.  Psalms 34:1-4

  • Good morning


    Its beautiful and cold outside.  I'm thinking of heading over to my moms with munchkins in tow to visit my aunt whose visiting their.  But we will see.


    I woke up in a GOOD mood which is a gift from God.  Cause Rainee had a very very bad night.  *sigh* 


    Her oxygen sats kept dropping down down down every time she fell asleep.  She was down to 87 at one point.  The good news was everytime we woke her she perked back up between 93-97 which was just fine.  But we had to get up and wake her which of course makes for lack of sleep.    So then we realized she was sleeping on her stomache.  She has NEVER slept on her stomache because she quite literally can't breathe due to her birth defects.    But for some reason she has decided she should flip over and try.  Well then she started waking herself up because of not breathing, and we'd get up roll her over she'd scream, I'd nurse her, and then lay her down, and fifteen minutes later we'd start this whole routine over again. 


    I even tried propping stuffies/pillows around her so she couldn't roll and NOPE it didn't work.   And we can't just leave her on her stomache screaming 'cause her stats would drop.  Sooooooo it was intresting.  Do ya think sleep is allowed in this house. 


    In regards to the Princess~~she slept in her OWN Bed ALL night long for the first night since we got home from the hospital


    WOO HOO!!!!!!!!


    Okay got that out of my system.  snicker.


    However HD decided that well ummm he should sleep in mom & dad's bed instead.  He had a nightmare at 4:00, and was quite shook up about it, so in he went.   


    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAA  what can one do, but laugh.  I did the crying/freaking out yesterday. 


    I told Dr. W yesterday that Princess' breathing episodes were the straw that broke the camels back.  And he said,  oh really,  I would have thought that happened several months ago.   


    I must laugh, because if I don't I will cry.


    If I were to list all the disasters, scarey things that happened this year, I think I'd be locked up in a straight jacket.


    So instead I will focus on the fact that Rainee bug who has really struggled with anything of texture ate 10 baby bites of chicken (none-puried)  she even put it her  mouth by herself and swallowed, and put more in.  We were all in shock as we watched.  It was a MAJOR first.    YEAH!!!  she might start gaining weight  


    I will focus on the fact that Mari has started DEMANDING mommys hugs and kisses, and snuggles.  A year ago that would have been impossible for him to do.


    I will focus on the fact that HD hasn't finger painted or destroyed anything since Christmas time.  It must be some kinda record all in of itself.


    I will focus on Midge's Smiles, and snuggles.   I was trying to suggest to her the other day that milk was all gone.  (desperate desire to wean her )  She looked at me like, un huh sure mommy.  So Princess whispered something in Midge's ear, and then Midge says with great big smiles "Milk not all gone Milk in breast!"  ROFL!  


    I will focus on the fact that Rainee is scooting all over the house, and doing so well.  She hasn't had a single rescue treatment in like 5 days. 


    God is good, All the time.  All the time.  God is good. 


    I'm trading my sorrows,  I'm trading my shame.  I'm laying them down to the joy of my Lord.  (song thats stuck in my head, and I'm missing some of the words. 


    "Whatsoever thoughts are lovely, whatsoever thoughts are pure, if there be any virtue, if there be any praise, think on these things."  Philippians ??

  • Update on the Princess.


    We had two yep two visits at the doctors office today.  The first one she was clear because she's been clear in the day time.  So my wonderful Dr. W. made arrangements to be on call even though it wasn't it night, just so he could here the Princess breathe when she DOES do it.


    He didn't have to wait too long by 6pm she was doing the lovely breathing.  She was at 90.   It was about 15 minutes after we announced bedtime.  (right on cue) 


    We called, and he said bring her in.  I did.  And she had stopped by the time we got there.


    Sooooooo the suspicions that Rob and I had already formed were basically confirmed.


    We believe that Princess is having anxiety attacks or night terrors.  She does it between 15-30 minutes after she's gone to bed for the night. 


    We're gonna get another night light (she keeps wrecking hers )  And work through yet another battle in her young life.  She almost always has normals respirations once she goes to sleep, so we're gonna be a bit more gentle with her, give her lots of loves & hugs in the day time, and try to soothe her through this.


    We don't feel its any coincidence that it happened shortly after Rainee was in the hospital for a week.  Its so hard on my kids to be shifted from here to there, and to see me less then 5 minutes a day etc.  Soooooooo  I think we'll do a watch and see approach, and hope that we can figure out how to get her to calm down without telling her its all in her head.

  • i'm wondering how much more God thinks I can take.  Zeria's asthma has flared every night. 


    So took her to the ER she was breathing 80 respirations, nasal flaring, retracting, and the er doctor sent her home without even giving her a albuterol treatment.  She coulndt even talk through it, because she was so breathless.  But because she wasn't wheezing, and her sat said 96 thats all he could see.  #$@*#$&@#(*$&@(#*&$(@*#@$&#*$(@#&*$@#&   Well, she doesn't have pneumonia.  He says.  (DUH knew that already think I know what pneumonia looks like these days. 


    Kept saying she can't breathe, why is she breathing so fast.  Doctor says there's nothing wrong with her.  But I'll write you a prescription of prednisilone if that will make you happy. 


    I was so mad.  She finally fell asleep at home, and her breathing slowed down. 


    I'm starting to wonder if maybe its a psychological thing.  Seperation anxiety at bedtime?  She's only been doing this since Rainee got home from the hospital.  What do you think, do you think thats a weird idea?  Or a possibility.  She has so many hang-ups from her long ago past.  I don't know.


    I'm too tired to reason.  And I have to drag her to the doctor again,  and fight for a doctor to listen, and I"M TIRED!

  • Good morning


    So it must be time to blog some funny's of my kiddos.


    For the past 3 months whenever Kaylin was sad she'd say "my thwoat hu'ts  (throat hurts).   She started doing this after I had that nasty nasty nasty sore throat around Thanksgiving time.  We were 98% sure that she was just using it as a sympathy getter, so didn't take it too seriously.  


    So last night she was NOT wanting to go to bed.  She was crying and whining like bed time was the awfulllest thing in the world.  So I finally told her to come back downstairs in hopes that something *might* actually be wrong, instead of her just not wanting to sleep.  So she comes down stairs.  "Whats wrong Kaylin?"  I ask with my sympathetic mommy voice.  "My thwoat hu'ts."  she says.  "HMMMMMM."   So I have her go ahhhh and look, it looks fine to me.  I touch her neck and she just looks at me calmly.   "Kaylin can you tell me where your throat is?"  I ask  (should have asked this months ago btw)  "UMMMMMMMM"  she thinks then points to her ear.   "Oh really,  are you sure thats your throat?"  I ask again.  She then points to her stomache.   BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA   she doesn't know where her throat is. 


    Sooooooooo mommy tries again.  Do you have a owie somewhere?  I ask.  (Gotta give her the benefit of the doubt)   She points to her knee.  (10 day old scratch there).


    Okay, this child is just a child that doesn't want to go to bed.  snicker.   I hmmmed and hawed a couple more seconds, and finally she tells me.  "I wet bed."  A-ha.  This I can deal with.    So I did.  And we went to sleep peacefully.


    Gotta love bein' mommy. 


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    On a seperate note.  I met a workman from the dark ages.  The house we live in is in my name only.  Community property laws being what they are we both would get half if for some reason we divorced.  but as you know we don't believe in that.  Anyhoo.   Most of the repair work on this house was done pre-marriage and I did it with much help from my mom.  I'm the one who knows all the details of the house, where pipes run in and out, where wiring is etc, etc.  


    Wellllllllllllll   this geeky guy kept saying.  "Is your husband home,  I really need to talk to him."  "Oh what do you need?"  I'd ask.  "Well, I need to talk to your husband."  "He's at work today, I'm the one in charge tell me."  "Well, I need to talk to your husband."  


    #$@*#$(&@#*($*&@#(*$&@(#*&$(@#*&$(@#*&($*@&##*(@#


    Okay got that out of my system.  snicker.   Welcome to the 21st century where women can make the decisions.  He finally told me what the problem was.  I solved it in 3 seconds.  DH couldn't have solved it 'cause he didn't know the answer.  And I was on my merry way. 


    So, do I complain to the main office?  Or just smile and pretend that I'm d['uh blonde.  LOL


    My thought for the day~~


    Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not unto your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.  Proverbs 3:5&6

  • I'm here, I just don't feel good.  I think I probably have a mild case of mastitis, so I'm sleeping it off.  Be back when I feel better. 

  • Good morning


    Well, it was a night, a very very very long night.  My back spasmed and the baby cried.  And the too of us didn't sleep much between that.  And the big kids decided 6 am was a lovely time to wake up.


    WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE!


    Okay got that out of of my system (maybe )


    I had fun with one of the pictures yesterday.  Here we go~~



    I haven't gotten to play with pictures in awhile it was kinda fun.


    Other then that the whole day was kinda long.  Nothing particularly bad, just long.  I guess that's cause I was fighting a sore back all day, sure wish I knew why so i could avoid that little scenario again!


    My sil let my niece drop by valentines yesterday, and oh my did the kids enjoy that.  MUCHO candy in there. 


    And the snicker for the day was when Midge & Princess dropped their nighties down around their hips and were belly dancing (I guess)  I just about died, and NO I did not take pictures snicker.