Month: October 2002

  • Good morning


    I hesitate to blog.  Because I wanted to give a victorious blog.  And yet I really can't.


    I AM greatful that we have a diagnosis for Rainee.  But it saddens me her diagnosis.  Because theirs nothing I can do to help her.  She's not gonna die or anything.  She's just ALWAYS gonna struggle to breathe. 


    The surgeon came in after the procedure.  And started out with these words.  What we found was very intresting.......Not a good way to start.     And before the procedure she was talking to the ENT surgeon who sat in to give his opinion and said that she had "An acute respitory attack when laying on her stomache."  UMMM it was a mild one compared to some we've witnessed.    That scared me more then about anything. 


    So here's the scoop.  She does NOT have tracheomalacia. But PART of her problem IS related to the trachea.  Her windpipe which is supposed to be about 50% carteledge and 50% soft to allow it to work smoothly.  is 80% carteledge.  Which means it doesn't function the way it should.  She has to work VERY hard to get the air in and out.  So that would be bad enough.  EXCEPT  they also found  that her left bronchial tube is mal-shaped.  The bronchial tube is the tube going into your lungs if you've forgotten your biology lessons.      Anyhow its extremely floppy.  And doesn't open/close right.  It IS Passing air.  But she has to push very hard to do so.  


    The result.  MUCHO breathing trouble.  And absolutely nothing we can do to make it better.     Its a very helpless feeling.


    She (the surgeon)  did say that as she gets older and her immune system improves it will be less of a struggle.  She also said that because she continues to gain weight they are not nearly as worried as they could be.  Soooooooo   that was a small comfort.  Oh and she said that this year would be the WORST and after that we should see small improvements, but this would be something she will struggle with for the rest of her life.



  • Running in to say hi and bye.  That is if my internet connection will let me stay on for at least 30 seconds.  Been bumped off 5x in the past 10 minutes.  *sigh*


    Headed out tonight to get Rainee's bronscopy done.  The appointment got bumped up a couple hours, and its easier to go the night before as a result.  Rainee and I will stay in a hotel and head for the doctor in the morning.  She's not allowed to eat from 8 am until after the scope.  (probably 1 or 2)  So its gonna be a long hard frustrating day.


    Never mind the anxiety of her being put under for the scope.


    Prayers would be greatly appreciated.


    Thanks

  • Morning.  Headed out in 15 minutes for the last soccer game of the year.

    WOO HOO!!!!


    I'm not cut out to be a soccer mom.    I'll stick to being just a mom.  LOL


    Hey, I'm stealing this from somebody elses site.  I'd love to give my SIR list Christmas cards.   REAL ones in the REAL mail.   If you'd like to get one from me e-mail me your real addy.  And I'll put you on my list.      If you want my addy in return ask.  Otherwise don't feel like you need to to send one to me.  I just want to do something fun.  :)


    The shin guard gang is here.    Gotta get


    Had a blast at the pumpkin patch...camera died so not too many pictures.  And got to get batterys before I can upload them.  Do that today (I hope)


    TTYL! 

  • Good morning


    Short on time today so no pictures. 


    Headed to the doctor to get my thyroid tested and see where it stands and whether I need more med.  Also to see if I'm still anemic from Rainee's birth.  Thinking I probably am.


    Daddy's keeping the kids today cause after that I have Bible study.  So I guess their having a 'ome day today.  (home day)  as Kaylin calls it.


    Rainee is reverse nursing.  Meaning she's nursing all night long and not much intrested in the day time.  This HAS to end!!!!!  So gonna work on some solutions for it, just not sure what. 


    We finally have a combination that is causing her to take her zantac.    Soooo I think that is definitely helping her reflux!


    The chest clinic has still NOT called with an appointment time for the broncyoscope, so I guess I'm gonna have to deal with that when I get off.  Or have dh deal with it as he's gonna be the one home.


    Poor HD fell asleep in his car seat on his way home from Cubbies last night.  The Director takes them to save me the run and cause she lives right beside us.  Anyhow dh carried him inside car seat and all and he never stired.   I guess they wore him out.    Of course they didn't sleep in that would just be asking tooooo much. 


    Well gotta git  Have a great day!

  • Good morning  


    Well as plans go~~we didn't finish the rock yesterday.  LOL  We did go get more.  So we can finish quite quickly today.   Rob is also intending on putting the wood step in and doing the finish work around that.  I'm hoping to paint over the dirt stains that the dog made.  Which you can see in the earlier blog.  Our dog LOVES to sleep inside that little nook and it just gets SOOOOOOO filthy!  We have a country dog lol


    We ended up going for a very long drive yesterday.  And the drive ended up a lot longer then originally tended because well umm we got lost     The back roads around here tend to get confusing and we got confused.  ROFL    Not seriously lost mind you just came out farther away then we thought we were oh yeah and on the wrong side of the mountain as well.


    Our poor kids.  Their used to eating dinner about 4:30 and well it came at 6:00 last night.  But they kept their hunger at bay eating the Doritos that daddy picked up at a mom & pop store, so they weren't dying.  I *think* I have some gorgeous pictures, but I haven't uploaded them yet~~so I will share them later.


    The VERY VERY GOOD news?  Rob finally got around to balancing the check book last night and figuring out what the heck had gone wrong.  Well umm we apparently did NOT bounce checks.  When I had found out we were low I had ran a check to the bank.  This check brought our account back up to snuff.  But they forgot to credit it.   They sent 7 checks back to people.  They told them we bounced them, but the whole time the check I ran to the bank was there.   And 2 days later the bank Reversed ALL the bounced check fees.   So now as soon as the bank opens dh is gonna call them and find out what the heck happened.      And request that they write letters to all the people whom they bounced and say that it was a bank error.   


    Well no time to upload pictures today as dh needs the telephone.  So maybe later in the day or maybe tomorrow.


    Have a great day all

  •                        


    So this is how the project began.  Well actually it began in tearing down the very old and decripd front deck.  But you don't need to see that red neck thing.     These are the rocks that we used to make the steps with, and this is my mom and Rob making the first lay-out of how things were gonna go.  We quickly used up the first truck load.  And while my mom ran my sis into a doctor's apointment and to pick up sand (she owns the truck)  we took the van up the hill to get more rock.   I absolutely had to stop and take this picture.  And a few others   That I will share later. 


           


    Our combined back strength wasn't enough to lift the VERY big ones.   But we got a bunch of smaller ones which we used to outline the sidewalk.      When the pick-up came back we also did a run with that.  But once again we weren't very strong. 


    So when my brother showed up.  Rob & him went back up the hill and OY they get some monsters!!!  I should have taken a picture of that but it was almost dark by then.  They quickly put those in place...and here's the result. 


                    


       


    VERY VERY cool IMHO  


    Today we hope to finish the project.  We need to do the wood step on top (obviously)  And fill in the sidewalk with sand/pea gravel.  Though we are actually debating using the left over small pieces instead.  Still thinking about that one.  LOL    Those round roller things going nowhere were my old "side walk"  So those are coming out and we're gonna take them to the back door and use them there. 


    At the moment however dh went on a bike ride with my brother.  They haven't successfully managed to have one in over 9 months.  So I'm cheering that they actually get to play today. 


    And sometime soon I'm actually gonna get my buns in gear and get myself dressed. 

  • Today ended up being a very good day.  And I'm choosing to leave the entry public, because I guess it shows that I'm human


    We apologized, and proceeded from there.  And ended up doing something neither of us planned.  My mom as a birthday present ended up bringing Rob a truck load of slate for our front deck.  This is NOT slate you buy its slate you dig up from the mountain.  Her and my sibs that live at home loaded it.  So we spent the rest of the day building our front step.  It looks very very very good.  And as soon as its daylight tomorrow I will take pictures and post them.  I'm very proud of it.   


    It was HARD work!  And just as we were petering the calvary came in the form of my 6'2 brother   And he bossed everybody around and got it almost completely finished.  Just a little bit more sand which my mom will pick up for us tomorrow and a couple loads of peagravel on our sidewalk and we will have it done.   


    The kids played with my sisters most of the day, and it ended up being fun.


    I got a campfire going and we had hamburgers and hot dogs for dinner, and ended up sitting around the campfire for a LONG time.  My dad who usually runs away quickly anymore just sat and sat and sat.    Nobody wanted to leave it was just fun to watch the flames.  And every once and awhile someone would wander over to the front step and add another piece or too.  LOL


    It made for some very good memories.  And my extended family hasn't had a lot of those this year with my brothers diagnosis of bipolar my grandma dying, and other such garbage.  My mom even caught herself laughing and said Oh its been so long.


    So God won and turned a disaster into a day to treasure.  How good is he? 


                         

  • I am so very very very very angry.  If I had cuss words I would cuss.  We discussed what we were gonna do for today.  We dressed the kids for what we were gonna do today.  We bought food that we didn't really have money for so we could do what we were gonna do today.  I got dressed for what we were gonna do today.  Everybody was excited about what we were gonna do today.

    And then

    My #$@*#&$(@*#&#*(@*#&$@*(#&$@(*#&$(*@&#(*$@&#(*$&@#(*&$@(*#&$(@*#&$(@*#&$(@*#&$(*@&#$(*@&#(*$&@#(*$&(@*#&$(*#@&$(*#&(*@&#(*&@(#*$&(@*#&$(*@#& DH  whom I DO love, but am ready to throttle decided to cancel it all.


    So here we all sit with the adrenniline all pumped and ready to burn and have a hot dog roast.  And no where to go and nothing to do. 


    I used some of my adrenniline yelling at my dh.  (embarassed face here)  And I'd like to use some more that way. 


    Breathing in and out in and out in and out in and out


    And guess what its not working! 


    Can I please take a extra Paxil.  How about a stiff drink.  I've never actually drank, but now seems like a good time.  snicker


    Its my husbands birthday.  If he doesn't want to I should let it go.  I should be a slave and humbly bow to all his wishes today.


    HA!


    Okay.  Breathing still.  In and out in and out in and out in and out in and out.


    I may actually do a private journal entry today!  LOL


    Father God, help me come down off my rage.  PLEASE!!!!!

  • *gasp*  its 7:15 and I'm awake~~what is the world coming to???  See typically whenever dh is home he lets me sleep cause I've been awake off and on all night with the nursing kidlet.  But I was awake so got up.  Feels kinda weird.  


    Thought for the day~~~


        "This is how we know we are in Him: whoever claims to live in Him must walk as Jesus did" (1 John 2:5b-6).


    Today is the first day of our vacation.  And we our celebrating dh's birthday today as well.  He's getting old   How are we celebrating?  We're having a burning party.  LOL  The cat work that my dad did for us for his birthday accumulated much to be burned.  So that's the plan for the day.   


    Here's my babies in their Sunday best.  It was a very funny picture.  Can you guess which one was the camera hog?  I kept telling HD move your head so I can see Rainee, move your head so I can see Princess.  HOLD your head still. BWAHAHA  He likes the camera lol.  I'll try again another Sunday, but they were just so cute this sunday and actually *almost* matching.    Oh and the little outfit MIdge has on?  It was a hand-me-down.  And Oh it is soooooooo adorable!!  And her perfect color.  I love hand-me-downs like that. 


                        


    Gonna practice seeing how many ways we can stretch pennies this week.  Payday being on Friday.  And our account being very low.  GOT TO buy flour today.  Its all gone.     no cooking oil, no dish soap.  *sigh*  HMMM gonna be intresting to shop today.  Fortunately we DO have a freezer full of meat.   


    Father God, I ask for energy to enjoy this day.  I ask for a calm Rainee so that my whole day doesn't have to be focused on her.  And I thank you for the wonderful dh you gave me.  In your sons name, Amen

  • Good morning


    I think we're going to church.  It all depends on how the Princess's asthma cough does.  Yep thats right the Princess.  She hasn't had asthma in like 9 months.  I was sooooooooooooooo hoping that meant she grew out of it.  But thats I what I get for thinking. 


    She wants to go, and all we would do at home is worry and watch tv, so I guess we'll go. 


    So soon I will start the bathing baby act.  Rainee is currently sitting on my lap nakey (air time)  She LOOOOVES getting a bath!